This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to medical education.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
Biomedical Informatics: Computer Applications in Health Care and Biomedicine, 5e by
This 5th edition of this essential textbook continues to meet the growing demand of practitioners, researchers, educators, and students for a comprehensive introduction to key topics in biomedical informatics and the underlying scientific issues that sit at the intersection of biomedical science, patient care, public health and IT. Emphasizing the conceptual basis of the field rather than technical details, it provides the tools for study required for readers to comprehend, assess, and utilize biomedical informatics and health IT.
Challenges and Opportunities in Health Professions Education: Perspectives in the Context of Cultural Diversity by
This book addresses health professions educational challenges specific to non-Western cultures, implementing a shifting paradigm for educating future health professionals towards patient-cantered care.
Core Clinical Competencies in Anesthesiology: A Case-Based Approach by
The core clinical competencies in anaesthesiology can be pretty blurry - just how do they apply to real life? This book answers this question, incorporating the core clinical competencies into an engaging format that anaesthesiologists like - case studies. Written in the same engaging style as a number of other anesthesia books (specifically, the Board Stiff opus) by leading anaesthesiologists from leading medical centers across the United States, this book will bring the core clinical competencies to life for medical students.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023: Concise Summaries of the Latest Disease Screening, Prevention and Management Guidelines by
Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians.
Education in Anesthesia: How to Deliver the Best Learning Experience by
This book provides suggestions and practical examples for teaching in the Pre-Anesthesia Clinic, the Operating Room, the Pain Clinic, and the ICU. Designed to help the reader become a more efficient and effective teacher, it also provides best practice suggestions for teaching airway management, regional anesthesia, transesophageal echocardiography, and newer technologic advancements such as point-of-care ultrasound.
The Equal Curriculum: The Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health by
This first-of-its-kind textbook marks a revolutionary effort to reform medical education nationally by providing a comprehensive, high-quality resource to serve as a foundation for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) health education across multiple disciplines.
Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher: An Introduction to Teaching and Learning in Medicine, 3e by
Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher, 3e is a book that will serve as a perfect introduction for new teachers to the exciting opportunities facing them, whether they are working in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing education. It will also be of considerable use to more experienced teachers to review and assess their own practice and gain a new perspective on how best to facilitate their students' or trainees' learning.
Evidence-Based Medicine: How to Practice and Teach EBM, 5e by
Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies.
Foundations of Interprofessional Health Education: An Ecological Theory by
This book is designed to introduce a theory of ecological psychology into interprofessional health education. The foundations are affordances (features in the environment that afford the opportunity to be recognized and utilized), the life-world (what the meaningful environment contains for the trainee), and behavioral-settings (person-made affordances that are permissive, supportive, or resistive to specific behaviors). Expanding the life-world is the main mechanism of learning in health care. Becoming aware of intentional and unintentional features of the behavioral setting is how we structure the curricular environment to achieve this life-world expansion. The book is structured into four domains: The Natural Domain, The Mental Domain, The Social Domain, and Non-Linearity. The final application section lays out a structure for designing, implementing, and evaluating the educational program in a professional healthcare setting. This book is ideal for clinician managers of interprofessional healthcare clinics, and for the teachers and trainees from each discipline (e.g., medicine, nursing, pharmacy, psychology, social work, etc.).
Handbook of Clinical Teaching by
Targeting the practical needs of clinical teachers who do not have extensive time to undergo additional training, this book provides an accessible, on-the-spot resource to bolster teaching skills and optimize the education of trainees. A massive transformation takes place every summer in the United States: thousands of trainees in graduate medical education are appointed as attending physicians responsible for effectively teaching the next generation of medical students and residents. This handbook includes only the most relevant topics for new clinical teachers, and covers the basics of clinical teaching, teaching in specific situations, teaching different audiences, and best practices for handling challenging situations. The format is conducive to "just in time" learning, perfect for quick reference before meeting with learners or engaging in specific teaching situations, such as in an ambulatory clinic or at the bedside. Key points are emphasized with frequent use of tables and boxed practical content. Applicable to all teaching attendings regardless of specialty, the Handbook of Clinical Teaching is a valuable aid for individuals who wish to improve their teaching, and serves as a practical guide for faculty development in clinical teaching.
Handbook of Open, Distance and Digital Education by
This handbook offers a one-stop-shop for both new and established researchers, educators, policy makers and administrators in the field of open, distance and digital education (ODDE) to gain a comprehensive overview of the history, theory and practice at all levels of ODDE, and at the same time stimulates in-depth discussions on various themes and issues of ODDE for today and future. Researchers, scholars and students in the field of ODDE can use this handbook as a major reference to conduct their own research and learning agendas.
How to Survive in Anaesthesia: A Guide for Trainees, 5e by
The first few months as a trainee anaesthetist are a daunting prospect, filled with new information, skills and terminology. This concise reference, now in its fifth edition, provides doctors with a clear introduction to the practice. Fully updated and split into four key parts for quick consultation, the reader can recap on the airway and anaesthetic equipment, and find crucial advice on crises such as cardiac arrest, haemorrhage and blood transfusion. Written in an accessible and often humorous style, How to Survive in Anaesthesia is an essential resource in learning the safe fundamentals of the practice for trainee anaesthetists.
International Handbook of Teaching and Learning in Health Promotion: Practices and Reflections from Around the World by
This international handbook brings together researchers and teachers from 25 countries of the five continents to share their experiences of teaching health promotion in undergraduate and graduate courses related to different health professions. Chapter authors share teaching methodologies used in classes, discuss the competencies students need to learn and indicate research opportunities.
Learner-Centered Teaching: Five Key Changes to Practice, 2e by
In her characteristically research-based, direct, and practical style, Maryellen Weimer provides a much-needed guide, critique, and road map of the scholarship of teaching and learning. Weimer's new book will be of use to teachers, researchers, and administrators alike and nicely complements her Learner-Centered Teaching and Classroom Research.
Making Sense of Clinical Teaching: A Hands-on Guide to Success by
Are you new to clinical teaching and looking for practical advice? Would you like to challenge and improve your current teaching style? Do you want to direct change in teaching practice within a department or institution?If your answer to any of the above is yes, then Making Sense of Clinical Teaching is the resource for you.
Management and Leadership Skills for Medical Faculty: A Practical Handbook by
Recognizing that medical faculty face different questions or issues in different stages of their careers, this handy, practical title offers a comprehensive roadmap and range of solutions to common challenges in the complex and changing Academic Medical Center (AMC). With critical insights and strategies for both aspiring and seasoned academicians, this handbook offers a concise guide for personal career development, executive skill acquisition, and leadership principles, providing actionable, targeted advice for faculty seeking help on a myriad of new issues and situations.
MD Aware : A Mindful Medical Practice Course Guide by
This unique, step-by-step guide for instructors offers a comprehensive approach to teaching pre-clerkship medical students -- as well as residents and even experienced physicians -- about the transformational impact of mindful medical practice, or mindful whole person care. Indeed, integrating contemplative practices – such as "presence" and "relationship" -- into medical education is an established but still rapidly growing approach to bringing experiential learning to medical students.
Medical Quality Management: Theory and Practice, 3e by 
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors.
Mindful Medical Practitioners: A Guide for Clinicians and Educators by
Following up on Mindful Medical Practice, this book describes in detail how mindfulness is being taught to medical students, residents, practicing physicians, and allied health care professionals. Steps to set up and integrate programs into curricula are featured and educators' questions concerning practical aspects of doing this work are addressed.
A Pocket Guide for Medical Students: From Enrollment to Job Interviews by
This book is addressed to future and enrolled medical students, as well as new graduated doctors, with the main aim to help them getting the grips of what the medical degree is all about and what are the different phases encountered as well as how to survive them. There are various aspects that medical students should be aware of, some "hidden issues" that no one will tell you unless they have passed from the experience themselves. This book will also feature the author's personal experiences both as a student and a lecturer. This is a unique feature that will enable readers to understand that they are not alone, others have experienced their fears and desires. Readers will be provided with tips on how to survive the course, how to deal with arising issues, and how to balance studying and living a life. This book intends to also highlight the importance of researching during medical school and how to go about it as well as how to prepare CVs and job interviews. An insight into life beyond medical school is also provided. Thanks to the practical and easy-to-use outline - in accordance with various stages from enrolling to preclinical and clinical stages expectations, from targeting work-life balance to conducting research, preparing for a medical job interview and life beyond-, this book will benefit and guide all future medical doctors through their medical school years.
Practising Clinical Supervision: A Reflective Approach for Healthcare Professionals, 2e by
Practical Clinical Supervision, 2e builds on the success of the original, which was praised for engaging readers and being a pragmatic and practice-orientated addition to the literature on clinical supervision. This edition is written in accessible style and will appeal to those both new to clinical supervision or experienced. It provides a thought-provoking, user friendly and practical guide to the subject. With contributors from the UK and Australia.
Preparing Learners for Uncertainty in Health Professions: A Handbook for Educators by
This book serves to fill a critical gap in existing healthcare education resources, by raising healthcare professional and healthcare educators’ awareness of uncertainty tolerance. This handbook explores the impact health professions education (and educators) can have on the future healthcare workforce’s ability to manage uncertainty effectively, and provides practical approaches (including exemplar curricular templates) for supporting this essential workplace-ready, transferable attribute.
Remediation in Medical Education: A Mid-Course Correction, 2e by
On a daily basis, health professions educators struggle to find effective and respectful ways of working with trainees who struggle to meet standards - most of whom will become practicing clinicians. Society allows and expects the health professions to regulate ourselves, and we must do so. The first edition of this book concentrated on medical student learners mainly in the United States. Since then, the literature has exploded, offering a wider range of remediation practices for all levels of learners in all health professions throughout the world. This new edition continues to offer evidence-based, theory-informed, and pragmatic approaches to identifying and remediating trainees who cannot yet perform to standards. Illustrative case studies frame practical and programmatic advice from experienced front-line educators. All original chapters have been updated, and there are 21 brand new chapters. Of the 73 chapter authors, 52 are new to this edition, broadening the book's relevance internationally and across the health professions. This book is required reading for all those committed to ensuring health professionals are ready and able to serve the health of the public.
Simulation Training and Skill Assessment in Anesthesiology [StatPearls] by
Excerpt
The anesthesia patient safety foundation (APSF) was founded in 1985 with the timeless mission to ensure that “no patient shall be harmed by anesthesia.” This mission is still widely pursued, and progress has certainly been made in the last 30 years with simulation curriculum and advancement playing a significant role in the training of anesthesiologists. In its first year of operation, the APSF awarded four grants to patient safety research, to achieve its goal of improvement in patient safety. In the 1999 report by the Institute of Medicine, To Err is Human, the APSF was recognized as an organization that has made demonstratable positive impacts on patient safety. The APSF can be credited with facilitating the growth of anesthesia simulation as a tool for education, training, research, and assessment. In 1988, the APSF took part in organizing a conference on medical simulation followed by an anesthesia simulator curriculum conference a year later in 1989. After that, a national conference on anesthesia simulation and its role in education took place in 1995.
Anesthesiology’s stake in simulation dates as far back as the 1950s when anesthesiologist Dr. Peter Safar demonstrated the ability to perform mouth-to-mouth ventilation on a chemically paralyzed human volunteer. Dr. Safar, together with Dr. Bjorn Lind and toy-maker Asmund Laerdal, went on to create the first resuscitation mannequin, Resusci Anne, in the 1960s. Its use today in BLS education is a testament to the importance of the earliest simulation research and development. Then, in the late 1960s, medical student Stephen Abrahamson and anesthesiologist Dr. J. Samuel Denson, along with engineers from Aerojet-General Corporation, developed the Sim One, a mannequin simulator controlled remotely by a computer, which has been used for educating anesthesiology residents in airway management. Gaba and colleagues developed the virtual anesthesiology training simulation system in 1986, a true high-fidelity simulator. Unlike its predecessors, this model integrated with the actual operating room (OR) monitors, allowing a systems operator working behind the scene to simulate the physiologic response to hands-on input from trainees. This simulator was used for training in intubation and handling endotracheal tube complications as well. A simulation instructor could run through various scripts with trainees. The focus on anesthesia Crisis Resource Management (CRM) began coming into its own in the 1990s, drawing inspiration from other industries such as aviation’s Crew Resource Management. The advent of high-fidelity simulators allowed for further studies evaluating their practicality in supporting the CRM curriculum.
Successful Doctoral Training in Nursing and Health Sciences: A Guide for Supervisors, Students and Advisors by
This textbook is a practical, user-friendly and essential guide for doctoral students, their supervisors and advisors and administrators of doctoral programs in nursing and health sciences.
Surgeons as Educators : A Guide for Academic Development and Teaching Excellence by
This book is designed to provide the reader with comprehension of the principles of contemporary surgical education and skills to design and implement effective curricula that include learning theory, needs assessments, curriculum development, effective teaching methods, valid and reliable assessment of learners, and comprehensive program evaluation.
Surgical Mentorship and Leadership: Building for Success in Academic Surgery by
This book is a practical, useful guide that reviews select topics on leadership and mentorship, as well as provides key information on how to launch a successful “young” surgical career. This volume focuses on key points on how to identify mentors, highlight mentor-mentee “pearls”, as well as define key leadership traits in being successful as an academic surgeon.
Teaching Evidence-Based Medicine: A Toolkit for Educators by
Practicing evidence-based medicine is widely regarded both as best clinical practice, and as the cornerstone of meeting the ACGME competencies in Practice-Based Learning and Improvement. This book provides a modular curriculum structure for instructors, with each topic area taking up one section, or one hour of instructional time. This is an ideal guide for residency program directors and core faculty, either within internal medicine or more broadly in family medicine, paediatrics, surgery, OB-gyn, as well as medical school faculty for use with students.
Teaching on the Run: Teaching Tips for Clinicians by
This book is intended to provide an educational framework upon which as clincian teachers you can build your teaching activities.
View this resource online or borrow from the Library as a print book.
Teaching Professional Attitudes and Basic Clinical Skills to Medical Students: A Practical Guide by
First of its kind, concise, easy to read resource. Written by an accomplished clinical teacher. Covers full range of topics related to teaching ideal attitudes and basic clinical skills.
Textbook of Medical Administration and Leadership by
This textbook covers all general areas of knowledge required for a trainee, generalist medical administrator, and doctor undergoing training to be a medical administrator specialist. Chapters cover all the key topics on medical administration and leadership.
Understanding Medical Education: Evidence, Theory, and Practice, 3e by
Created in partnership with the Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME), this completely revised and updated new edition synthesizes the latest knowledge, evidence and best practice across the continuum of medical education.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Medical education
National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education by
The National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education provides a blueprint for the future of pain education over the next five to 10 years with its underpinning values, principles, goals and detailed implementation plan. It articulates not only ‘what’ needs to be achieved, but ‘how’ we can achieve the desired goals in the most effective and resource-efficient way, to ensure a meaningful and positive impact for those in the community living with pain.
National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education: Implementation Guide by
This Implementation Guide is a companion document to the National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education and provides the key elements of the strategy, including a detailed ‘Implementation Plan’. It is recommended that the guide be read in conjunction with the main strategy document which provides essential background and contextual information.
These two e-books have been provided by Dr Lachlan Rathie, particularly as information resources for Trainees and SOTs. To access, simply click on the linked titles (note: these are large files and may take some time to load).
About the author:
Dr Lachlan Rathie is an ANZCA fellow, SOT at Toowoomba Hospital, and a primary examiner.
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Highly recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Anaesthetic Emergencies Handbook (Queensland Edition) by
The author describes this book as "an Australianized version of the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthetic Emergencies except it is briefer, more relevant and practicable."
Dr Rathie has recently released an ANZCA-specific primary exam title (available in print only).
The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by
Highly Recommended The only ANZCA Primary Exam primer book written by an examiner. This book addresses all components of the anaesthetics primary exam with a focus on the vivas. Exam resources, exam technique, diagrams, opening viva questions, practice SAQs, a study template and 500 short format questions and answers that traverse the entire curriculum are contained within this book.
The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by
Highly Recommended The only ANZCA Primary Exam primer book written by an examiner. This book addresses all components of the anaesthetics primary exam with a focus on the vivas. Exam resources, exam technique, diagrams, opening viva questions, practice SAQs, a study template and 500 short format questions and answers that traverse the entire curriculum are contained within this book.
Australia's Toxic Medical Culture: International Medical Graduates and Structural Power by
This book explores dominance in Australia's medical culture through the positioning of international medical graduates (IMGs). It argues that IMGs are 'othered' and ultimately positioned as an underclass, a positioning validated and reinforced by the intersecting inequalities of class, race and nation. It also suggests that the positioning of IMGs is organised through the dimensions of structural power, hegemonic power and interpersonal power, which allow an exploration of power relations between the structures of the health system, the Australian medical profession and the agency of IMGs.
Clinical Teaching: A Guide to Teaching Practical Anaesthesia by
This title addresses the most important aspect of anaesthetic training - learning in the operating suite. The information is clearly presented and can be easily incorporated into the practice of clinical anaesthesia. The practical guidance provided, from organising the department, assessing competence, teaching practical procedures or organising simulator sessions, is based on many years of experience.
Coaching and Mentoring at Work: Developing Effective Practice, 2e by
The book provides a very accessible explanation of the whole area of coaching and mentoring across many different work settings, with practical examples and exercises. The new edition also includes a number of excellent case studies by those who have developed coaching and mentoring and a coaching culture in different sectors.
Essential Pharmacology for the ANZCA Primary Examination by
This book is designed to assist in the preparation for sitting the pharmacology component of the primary examination of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists. The main aim is not to offer yet another heavy duty textbook but to organise the material that you would normally highlight in those texts into a practical and concise source of information.
Feedback in Higher and Professional Education: Understanding It and Doing It Well by
Feedback in Higher and Professional Education explores what needs to be done to make feedback more effective. It examines the problem of feedback and suggests that there is a lack of clarity and shared meaning about what it is and what constitutes doing it well. It argues that new ways of thinking about feedback are needed.
Good Medical Practice: Professionalism, Ethics and Law by
The primary purpose of this book is to provide, in a single source, information that is central to the professional, ethical and legal requirements of being a doctor. It covers a core curriculum for medical students, doctors in training and international medical graduates coming to work in Australia. It will also serve as a reference book for doctors in independent clinical practice and as a guide to medical regulators and lawyers, doctors, and community members who serve on performance and conduct panels and tribunals.
The intentional mentor in medicine: a toolkit for mentoring doctors by
The Intentional Mentor in Medicine: A Toolkit for Mentoring Doctors (TIMM). TIMM is about mentoring doctors – what mentoring means and how to perform the role of mentor – and it teaches doctors how to assist junior medical colleagues with their ambitions, issues and concerns related to being a doctor in practice.
The Question of Competence: Reconsidering Medical Education in the Twenty-First Century (The Culture and Politics of Health Care Work) by
While some debate the pros and cons of competence-based medical education and others explain how to achieve various competencies, the authors of the seven chapters in The Question of Competence offer something very different. They critique the very notion of competence itself and attend to how it has shaped what we pay attention to--and what we ignore--in the education and assessment of medical trainees.
Teaching Medical Professionalism by
This is the only book available to provide guidance to those designing and implementing programs on teaching professionalism. It outlines the cognitive base of professionalism, provides a theoretical basis for teaching the subject, gives general principles for establishing programs at various levels (undergraduate, postgraduate, and continuing professional development), and documents the experience of institutions who are leaders in the field.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
