Library resource guides: Medical education: Apps, podcasts & online lectures

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

Applying Quality Metrics to Sedation Education (21 May 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve curriculum development for medical education,
Diversity and Inclusion in Medical Research: Impact on Women's Heart Health (7 Sep 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve representation of women in cardiology clinical trials.
Role of Quality Metrics in Driving Education and Research at an Institutional Level (14 Feb 2023)
This program aims to improve patient outcomes through understanding of the role of quality metrics in health care research.
Organizational and Cultural Strategies for Clinician Wellness (7 Jun 2022)
This program aims to improve improve organisational and cultural strategies for clinician wellness including implementing tactics to address clinician burnout.
Primal Leadership: Leading with Emotional Intelligence (14 Apr 2022)
This program aims to improve patient outcomes through optimal healthcare practices informed by emotional intelligence.
Interprofessional Team Simulation as a Catalyst for Innovation and Education (7 Nov 2020)
This program aims to improve the use of interprofessional team simulation.

Apps

Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Access - by McGraw Hill [App] This link opens in a new window
The new MGH Access app allows users to search content from the AccessAnesthesiology and AccessMedicine collections, including: books and chapters (including Goodman & Gilman's and Harrison's), videos, podcasts, infographics, images, tables, and figures. Free registration required.

See our dedicated Access - by McGraw Hill guide for more information including full registration and access details.

Read by QxMD [App] This link opens in a new window
Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content, and the ability to request articles for non-subscribed content. For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly-published articles and claiming time spent for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated Read by QxMD guide for more information including full access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

BrowZine [App] This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated BrowZine guide for more information including full access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

The Clinical Teacher vodcasts
The Clinical Teacher journal has selected vodcasts available through its website.

Click the link below for access to this part of the journal. You will be prompted for your College ID and password, as The Clinical Teacher is a subscribed journal resource.

You can re-use The Clinical Teacher's vodcasts under the Creative Commons Licence.

Below is one example of a vodcast. It describes a curricular innovation project which implemented a flipped classroom curriculum for the gynaecologic oncology topics of the obstetrics and gynaecology medical student clerkship, and evaluating student satisfaction with the change.

Podcasts

Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.

Academic Medicine podcast
Meet medical students and residents, clinicians and educators, health care thought leaders and researchers in this podcast from the journal Academic Medicine. Episodes chronicle the stories of these individuals as they experience the science and the art of medicine. Guests delve deeper into the issues shaping medical schools and teaching hospitals today. Subscribe to this podcast and listen as the conversation continues.
Academic Medicine podcast (Spotify)
Academic Medicine podcast (iOS/Apple)

Aussie Med Ed- Podcast
Venture into the captivating world of medicine with 'Aussie Med Ed,' your definitive Australian medical podcast. Journey through the diverse medical landscape in an easy-going atmosphere, guided by your host, Dr. Gavin Nimon - an Orthopaedic Surgeon deeply committed to medical education in Adelaide.
more...less...
Our podcast serves as an illuminating beacon for medical students, practitioners, and anyone passionate about understanding health and wellness.

At Aussie Med Ed, we delve into an array of medical conditions, unraveling their mysteries, diagnosis, and treatment options. Our approach is unique, as we bring in experts from the extensive medical community, encouraging engaging dialogues that help demystify complex health issues. We're more than a medical podcast - we're a bridge between you and the world of medicine. Whether you're an aspiring doctor, a seasoned practitioner, or a curious mind, Aussie Med Ed is the perfect platform to expand your medical knowledge horizons.Dr Gavin Nimon and the team at Aussie Med Ed acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land on which the podcast is produced that of the Kaurna , Ngarrindjeri and Peramangk people.
Aussie Med Ed- Podcast (Spotify)
Aussie Med Ed- Podcast (iOS/Apple)

BJA Podcasts
These podcasts from the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA), discuss a broad range of issues including those in perioperative and intensive care medicine. The BJA is available through the ANZCA Library Journals list.

FICMLearning
A Free Open Access Medical Education (FOAMed) podcast provided by the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine. The FICMLearning Podcast explores subjects those working in critical care want to learn more about.
FICMLearning (Spotify)
FICMLearning (iOS/Apple)

KeyLIME podcasts
Key Literature in Medical Education (KeyLIME) is a weekly podcast produced by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

We bring you the main points of a medical education article in under half a hour! Articles that are important, innovative, or will impact your educational practice are discussed. Earn MOC credits under Section 2 for each podcast.
KeyLIME podcasts (Spotify)
KeyLIME podcasts iOS/Apple)

Med Ed Source
The University of Melbourne’s Department of Medical Education, their networks, and their collaborators offer you a fresh perspective on education in medicine and the health professions.
Med Ed Source (Spotify)

Medical Education podcast
Podcasts from the journal Medical Education.
Medical Education podcast (iOS/Apple)

The PAPERs Podcast
Drop into the conversation between the four hosts who discuss articles addressing health professions education. While the content is rigorous, the hosts offer light hearted and accessible insights, making this podcast part of many scholars’ regular listening schedule.
The PAPERs Podcast (Spotify)
The PAPERs podcast (iOS/Apple)

Simulcast
A podcast dedicated to the discussion of healthcare simulation. Debunking dogma, demystifying jargon and translating knowledge.
Simulcast (Spotify)
Simulcast (iOS/Apple)