Anaesthesia essentials: Journals

Peer-reviewed online journal that publishes informative clinical experiences.

Here's a journal for clinicians worldwide that supports the educational missions of the International Anesthesia Research Society and the Anesthesia & Analgesia journal.

The journal publishes short yet informative, peer-reviewed articles that simply describe (a) the unique perioperative or chronic pain-related clinical care of one to three patients; (b) an important teaching point or novel educational tool; or (c) an innovative solution to a perioperative services, patient safety, or global health management issue.

Established in 1957, Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica is the official publication of the Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. It publishes papers on original work in anaesthesiology, intensive care, pain and emergency medicine and subjects related to their basic sciences. With a rising impact factor, Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica has a well established reputation for publishing high quality material and attracts a global readership in over 60 countries.

Each year, Advances in Anesthesia brings you the best current thinking from the preeminent practitioners in your field. A distinguished editorial board identifies current areas of major progress and controversy and invites specialists to contribute original articles on these topics. These insightful overviews bring concepts to a clinical level and explore their everyday impact on patient care.

Anaesthesia is the official journal of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland and is international in scope and comprehensive in coverage. It publishes original, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of general and regional anaesthesia, intensive care and pain therapy, including research on equipment.

Anaesthesia and Intensive Care is an international journal publishing timely, peer reviewed articles that have educational value and scientific merit for clinicians and researchers associated with anaesthesia, intensive care medicine, and pain medicine. It is the official journal of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists, the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Society and the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists.

Anaesthesia and Intensive Care is an international journal publishing timely, peer reviewed articles that have educational value and scientific merit for clinicians and researchers associated with anaesthesia, intensive care medicine, and pain medicine. It is the official journal of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists, the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Society and the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists.

Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based, learning resource for trainees. Mapped to the curriculum of both the Primary and Final Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FRCA) examinations, Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine provides high calibre and concise articles designed to help you pass the FRCA exams.

Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine (formerly Annales Françaises d'Anesthésie et de Réanimation) publishes in English the highest quality original material, both scientific and clinical, on all aspects of anaesthesia, critical care & pain medicine.

Anaesthesia Reports is an official journal of the Association of Anaesthetists. It is international in scope and publishes original, peer-reviewed case reports, media content, and associated papers on all aspects of anaesthesia, peri-operative medicine, intensive care and pain therapy.

Official journal of the Polish Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Therapy. The journal is addressed chiefly to anaesthesiologists. However, due to the wide range of subjects it tackles (i.e. issues associated with anaesthesia, intensive therapy, resuscitation, pain research and management, emergency medical care, and perioperative medicine) and the interdisciplinary character of its articles it is also aimed at physicians with other specialisms.

Published monthly by the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS) and includes peer-reviewed, original clinical and research articles, providing practicing physicians, researchers and allied medical personnel in anaesthesiology and related fields with a wealth of information to keep them up-to-date with the latest issues and advances in the field.

Anesthesiology is the official Journal of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. The Journal published its first issue in July 1940. The Journal receives nearly 1500 manuscript submissions per year, and publishes almost 4000 pages (about 3,000,000 words) of peer-reviewed material annually. Over 50% of the submissions and more than 6000 of its subscribers are from outside the United States, making it a major international publication.

This open access journal is the official Journal of the Iranian Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ISRAPM), covering clinical and basic research, education, patient care, health economics, and policy to inform all practitioners in pain management, such as anesthesiologists, interventional pain physicians, neurosurgeons, neurologists, and any specialists who are interested in pain medicine.

Anesthesiology Clinics presents procedurally focused articles that update you on the latest trends in patient management, keep you abreast of the newest advances, and provide a sound basis for choosing treatment options.

Published quarterly—in March, June, September, and December—each issue offers state-of-the-art reviews on all types of anesthesia, including orthopedic, neuroanesthesia, vascular, thoracic, geriatric, pediatric, and obstetric, as well as practice management, pain management, monitoring, ambulatory care, palliative care, postoperative care, and critical care.

Anesthesiology Clinics of North America updates you on the latest trends in patient management; keeps you up to date on the newest advances; and provides a sound basis for choosing treatment options. Each issue focuses on a single topic in anesthesiology and is presented under the direction of an experienced guest editor.

Anesthesiology Research and Practice provides a forum for health care professionals engaged in perioperative medicine, critical care, and pain management.

The journal publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies related to anesthetics administration, preoperative and postoperative considerations, perioperative care, critical care, paediatric anesthesia, obstetric anesthesia, analgesia, clinical and experimental research, administration and efficacy, as well as technology and monitoring.

Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (APM) is the official scientific journal of the Korean Society of Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care (KSNACC), the Korean Society for Anesthetic Pharmacology (KSAP), the Korean Society of Obstetric Anesthesiologists (KSOA), the Korean Society of Pediatric Anesthesiologists (KSPA), the Korean Neuromuscular Research Society (KNRS), the Korean Society of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesiologists (KSCVA), the Korean Society of Transplantation Anesthesiologists (KSTA), the Korean Spinal Pain Society (KSPS), the Korean Society of Regional Anesthesia (KSRA), and the Korean Society for Airway Management (KSAM). The abbreviated title is "Anesth Pain Med".

It is published open-access in English four times a year on the last day of January, April, July, and October.

APM aims to improve the safety and care of patients receiving anesthesia and the quality of anesthesiologists’ clinical practice by publishing articles on anesthesiology, including perioperative management, critical care, and pain.

The official news publication of the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the ASA Monitor delivers the latest specialty and industry news, and practice-changing clinical information to the perioperative health care community.

ASA Refresher Courses in Anesthesiology is the largest selling annual publication in its field. Each new volume includes up to twenty complete and edited peer-reviewed lectures on topics of current clinical interest which are selected from regional and national ASA Refresher Course lectures.

Best Practice & Research: Clinical Anaesthesiology provides a comprehensive review of current clinical practice and thinking within the specialty anaesthesiology. Each issue follows a problem-orientated approach that focuses on the key questions to be addressed, clearly defining what is known and not known. Management will be described in practical terms so that it can be applied to the individual patient.

Founded in 1923, the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA) remains the oldest and largest independent journal of anaesthesia. The journal strives to support research and discovery in the field by publishing the best original articles in all branches of Anaesthesia.

BJA Education, formerly Continuing Education in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain, is a joint venture of the British Journal of Anaesthesia and The Royal College of Anaesthetists in the UK. It is also the official journal of The Faculty of Pain Medicine, The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, The Hong Kong College of Anaesthesiologists and the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine.

BJA Open publishes high-impact original work in all branches of anaesthesia, critical care, pain medicine and perioperative medicine including fundamental, translational and clinical sciences, clinical practice, technology, education and training and case reports. The distinguishing feature of BJA Open is its gold open access publishing option using an Article Publishing Charge (APC) model.

BMC Anesthesiology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of anaesthesiology, critical care, perioperative care and pain management, including clinical and experimental research into anaesthetic mechanisms, administration and efficacy, technology and monitoring, and associated economic issues.

This journal, according to the mission statement, spans the fields of anesthesia, acute and chronic pain, perioperative medicine and critical care. In addition, the Journal publishes practice guidelines and standards articles relevant to clinicians.

Formerly known as BJA CEPD Reviews;
Continued as BJA Education;

In the fields of anaesthesia and critical care, ways of thinking can change so quickly that most textbooks have difficulty keeping up. Published bi-monthly, each issue gives you access to the most current and vital account of what's going on in these critical areas.

Current Anesthesiology Reports offers expert review articles on significant recent developments in the field. By providing clear, insightful, balanced contributions, the journal serves all those involved in the delivery of perioperative pain management.

Published bimonthly and offering a unique and wide ranging perspective on the key developments in the field, each issue of Current Opinion in Anesthesiology features hand-picked review articles from our team of expert editors. With fifteen disciplines published across the year – including cardiovascular anaesthesiology, neuroanaesthesia and pain medicine – every issue also contains annotated references detailing the merits of the most important papers.

Die Anaesthesiologie is an internationally recognized journal de­aling with all aspects of anaesthesia and intensive medicine up to pain therapy. Der Anaesthesist addresses all specialists and scientists particularly interested in anaesthesiology and its’ neighbouring areas.

​The European Journal of Anaesthesiology (EJA) publishes original work of high scientific quality. Preference is given to experimental work or clinical observation in man, and to laboratory work of clinical relevance. The journal also publishes commissioned narrative reviews by an authority in a field of interest to those working in anaesthesiology, pain, emergency medicine or intensive care. Editorials, commissioned commentaries and book reviews also included.

Published on behalf of the European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care.

EJAIC is an official publication of the European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care (ESAIC). The journal has rapid electronic publication of peer-reviewed, high scientific quality content and is open to experimental studies with clinical relevance, confirmation studies, pilot studies, and study protocols.

International Anesthesiology Clinics is a valuable resource for any medical professional seeking to stay informed and up-to-date regarding developments in this dynamic specialty. Each issue is devoted to a single topic to provide in-depth information on a variety of subjects of interest to anaesthesiologists and others caring for patients in the perioperative period.

The International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia is the only journal publishing original articles devoted exclusively to obstetric anesthesia and bringing together all three of its principal components; anesthesia care for operative delivery and the perioperative period, pain relief in labour and care of the critically ill obstetric patient.

The Journal of Head and Neck Anesthesia (JoHNA) is the official open access journal of the Society for Head and Neck Anesthesia (SHANA, www.shanahq.com). The field of head and neck (H&N) anesthesia is changing and developing rapidly. JoHNA was founded with an aim to serve as a top, up-to-date information resource for research and latest clinical advances in perioperative care for patients requiring H&N surgery.

The Journal scope includes perioperative optimization and anaesthetic management, patient outcomes, airway management, equipment, and training as they relate to head and neck anesthesia. JoHNA publishes original research articles, reviews, editorials, case reports and letters to the editor.

Journal of Anaesthesiology Clinical Pharmacology is a quarterly peer-reviewed international journal published by the Research Society of Anaesthesiology Clinical Pharmacology. The journal allows free access (Open Access) to its contents and permits authors to self-archive final accepted version of the articles on any OAI-compliant institutional / subject-based repository.

The Journal of Anesthesia is the official journal of the Japanese Society of Anesthesiologists. This journal publishes original articles, review articles, special articles, clinical reports, short communications, letters to the editor, and book and multimedia reviews.

The Journal of Anesthesia History is an international peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the study of anesthesia history and related disciplines. The Journal addresses anesthesia history from antiquity to the present. Its wide scope includes the history of perioperative care, pain medicine, critical care medicine, physician and nurse practices of anesthesia, equipment, drugs, and prominent individuals. The Journal serves a diverse audience of physicians, nurses, dentists, clinicians, historians, educators, researchers and academicians.

The Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is primarily aimed at anaesthesiologists who deal with patients undergoing cardiac, thoracic or vascular surgical procedures. JCVA features a multidisciplinary approach, with contributions from cardiac, vascular and thoracic surgeons, cardiologists, and other related specialists. Emphasis is placed on rapid publication of clinically relevant material. The journal is international in scope and encourages innovative submissions from all continents.

The Journal of Clinical Anesthesia (JCA) addresses all aspects of anesthesia practice, including anaesthetic administration, pharmacokinetics, preoperative and postoperative considerations, coexisting disease and other complicating factors, cost issues, and similar concerns anaesthesiologists contend with daily. Exceptionally high standards of presentation and accuracy are maintained.

The Journal of Clinical Monitoring and Computing is a clinical journal publishing papers related to technology in the fields of anaesthesia, intensive care medicine, emergency medicine, and peri-operative medicine.

The journal has links with numerous specialist societies, including editorial board representatives from the European Society for Computing and Technology in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (ESCTAIC), the Society for Technology in Anesthesia (STA), the Society for Complex Acute Illness (SCAI) and the NAVAt (NAVigating towards your Anaestheisa Targets) group.

The Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology (JNA) is a peer-reviewed journal which publishes articles on all aspects of perioperative neuroscience. Specifically, the journal's scope includes clinical neuroanaesthesiology and neurocritical care, foundational neuroscience of anaesthesiology and brain and spinal cord injury, and neurologic outcomes after non-neurologic surgery and critical illness. The journal publishes original clinical and laboratory investigations, review articles, research letters and other correspondence, and special articles including clinical practice guidelines.

Local and Regional Anesthesia is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal focusing on all aspects of local and regional anesthetics and analgesics from development through to clinical use.

Minerva Anestesiologica, a monthly international, peer-reviewed scientific journal on anesthesia, resuscitation, analgesia and intensive care, is one the oldest journals in the world (the first issue was published in 1936). Official Journal of the Italian Society of Anesthesiology, Analgesia, Resuscitation and Intensive Care.

​Obstetric Anesthesia Digest provides timely summaries of the world literature in obstetric anesthesia. Each quarterly issue features dozens of clear, concise summaries of the most significant recent articles, frequently accompanied by insightful commentary by one of the Digest's renowned editorial consultants. The comprehensive coverage includes editorials and reviews, special articles, case reports, and "Short Takes"- abbreviated abstracts of secondary papers

The articles surveyed cover all aspects of anesthesia and analgesia as they relate to the mother, fetus, and neonate, providing a fast and easy means to stay current in this fast-changing field.

Devoted to the dissemination of research of interest and importance to practising anaesthetists everywhere, the scientific and clinical content of Pediatric Anesthesia covers a wide selection of medical disciplines in all areas relevant to paediatric anaesthesia, pain management and peri-operative medicine. The International Editorial Board is supported by the Editorial Advisory Board and a team of Senior Advisors, to ensure that the journal is publishing the best work from the front line of research in the field. The journal publishes high-quality, relevant scientific and clinical research papers, reviews, commentaries, historical vignettes, correspondence, case presentations and book reviews.

Perfusion is an ISI-ranked, peer-reviewed scholarly journal, which provides current information on all aspects of perfusion, oxygenation and biocompatibility and their use in modern cardiac surgery. The journal is at the forefront of international research and development and presents an appropriately multidisciplinary approach to perfusion science.

Published four times per year, the objective of this online journal is to serve as a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed source of information related to the administrative, economic, operational, safety, and quality aspects of the ambulatory and in-patient operating room and interventional procedural processes. As the official journal of the Society of Perioperative Assessment and Quality Improvement (SPAQI), the journal will provide high-quality information and research findings on operational and system-based approaches to ensure safe, coordinated, and high-value periprocedural care. With the current focus on value in health care it is essential that there is a venue for researchers to publish articles on quality improvement process initiatives, process flow modeling, information management, efficient design, cost improvement, use of novel technologies, and management.

This journal's audience includes all groups who participate in the planning, execution, and monitoring of the periprocedural process such as medical specialists (surgeons, anaesthesiologists, hospitalists), nurses, administrators, pharmacists, systems and process engineers, and other health care providers.

Produced by the American Society of Regional Anesthesia (ASRA), Regional Anesthesia is aimed at fulfilling the society's fundamental purpose-continuing education, and strives to present material that withstands critical editorial review, while at the same time serves the needs and wishes of their readers.

Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, the official publication of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA Pain Medicine), is a monthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes intraoperative regional techniques, perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, paediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications.

Incorporated into Journal of Critical Care.

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is a quarterly journal that serves the educational needs of clinicians practicing cardiac, thoracic, vascular anesthesia, thoracic and abdominal transplant anesthesia, paediatric/congenital cardiothoracic anesthesia, and related specialties. SCVA provides the anesthesia practitioner with access to timely reviews that summarize the data and expert opinion supporting evidence-based medicine and current best practices. It fulfils an important niche as one of only two journals devoted to the anaesthetic and perioperative care of patients with heart, lung, vascular, and paediatric/congenital heart disease as well as patients requiring thoracic or abdominal organ transplantation.

Survey of Anesthesiology is an authoritative source of information on advances in the science and practice of anaesthesiology as reported throughout the world literature. Every bimonthly issue contains 50 or more condensed articles selected by the journal’s distinguished Editorial Board from more than 100 international periodicals. Each condensed article carries a critique by a reviewing editor to provide an expert perspective on the material presented.

Techniques in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Management is a journal unlike any in the specialty. The concept underlying the publication is to combine the timeliness of a quarterly journal with the illustrative aspects of a procedure oriented atlas. Exact techniques are well-illustrated, giving precise drug dosages and helpful clinical pearls. In addition, common complications of regional anaesthesia and pain management procedures and their appropriate treatments are described.

Trends in Anaesthesia and Critical Care aims to be a leading biomedical review journal, providing reviews and comment on highly topical subjects and the latest breakthroughs in basic, clinical and translational research. This includes basic and clinical research aimed at understanding disease processes and clinical practice of importance to anaesthesia and critical care.

Education for anaesthesia providers worldwide. Published by WFSA.