Library resource guides: Anaesthesia essentials: Apps

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

Apps

Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Access - by McGraw Hill [App] This link opens in a new window
The new MGH Access app allows users to search content from the AccessAnesthesiology and AccessMedicine collections, including: books and chapters (including Goodman & Gilman's and Harrison's), videos, podcasts, infographics, images, tables, and figures. Free registration required.

See our dedicated Access - by McGraw Hill guide for more information including full registration and access details.

AnSo
AnSo is a convenient resource designed to help anaesthetists identify common sonoanatomy, in a time efficient manner, within the busy operating theatre. It has been created by practicing anaesthetists with an interest in teaching ultrasound and regional anaesthesia.
AnSo (iOS/Apple)
AnSo (Android/Google Play)

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

AusDI (Australian Drug Information) This link opens in a new window
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices
See our dedicated AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

BrowZine [App] This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated BrowZine guide for more information including full access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

ClinicalKey [App] This link opens in a new window
The ClinicalKey app provides access to the Australian version of ClinicalKey, allowing ANZCA fellows and trainees to access e-books, journals and a range of other resources.

See our dedicated ClinicalKey app guide for further information including full access details.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity. Use the CME feature to earn and track completed activities (local profile required).

Log4AS - Anaesthetic Logbook
The Log4AS App has been designed to produce the reports for those training in anaesthetics and consultant anaesthetists. The App allows you to collect operation, resuscitation, and procedural data on your mobile device and to print the required reports.
Log4AS (iOS/Apple)
Log4AS (Android/Google Play)
Free - In-app purchases

MDCalc
MDCalc clinical decision support is created exclusively by board-certified physicians for use by physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and medical students. The simple yet sleek app provides access to 550+ easy-to-use clinical decision tools including risk scores, algorithms, equations, formulas, classifications, dosing calculators, and more.
MDCalc (iOS/Apple)
MDCalc (Android/Google Play)

Read by QxMD [App] This link opens in a new window
Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content, and the ability to request articles for non-subscribed content. For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly-published articles and claiming time spent for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated Read by QxMD guide for more information including full access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

Somnus: The Anaesthesiology Logbook
Record cases, procedures, incidents, surgeons, supervisors and more - even create your own custom categories - and use them to filter your cases with advanced searches.
Somnus (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required

Vaper Logbook
Vaper is an electronic logbook/caselog for Anaesthesia.
- rapidly log cases while you work
- easy export of cases for a printed logbook/caselog
- rapid, intuitive data entry
Vaper (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required