Library resource guides: Private practice support hub: Resources

Contents

Private practice webinars
DynaMed trial
Point of care/clinical decision tools
Guidelines
Accessing articles anywhere
CPD support
Research support
Wellbeing support
Safety & advocacy support
Running a private practice
Patient experience
Keeping current: apps & podcasts
Creating a journal club

Private practice webinars

Optimising your financial affairs as an experienced physician (FPM)

This session is designed for FPM fellows to give a high level overview of the strategies and ideas on how to build wealth and looks at investing and structuring for tax, financing and legal considerations.

Hosted by Dr Leinani Salamasina Aiono-Le-Tagaloa, with guest Paul Copeland (William Buck Australia)
Presented: Monday, 28 July 2025 (85 mins)
CPD: Category 2: Knowledge and Skills - Learning Sessions

Past webinars can be found on the webinars tab

DynaMed

DynaMed Trial

As part of our strategy to expand resourcing for our private practice fellows, the college is undertaking a trial of the DynaMed clinical decision tool.

The sign-up period for the DynaMed trial has now ended. Participants in the trial can use DynaMed for 12 months, starting from their registration date. Previously signed-up users can continue to access downloaded content via the app.

DynaMed
Similar to UpToDate, DynaMed aims to help clinicians make informed decisions by providing access to up-to-date, evidence-based information, expert guidance, and a personalized experience.

See our DynaMed guide for more information

Point of care/clinical decision tools

A number of online tools and apps are available to help with your clinical support needs.

AusDI (Australian Drug Information)
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

See our AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

DynaMed
Similar to UpToDate, DynaMed aims to help clinicians make informed decisions by providing access to up-to-date, evidence-based information, expert guidance, and a personalized experience.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices (college members)
See our DynaMed guide for more information including full access details

FPM Opioid Calculator [App]
The Opioid Equianalgesic Calculator is designed to support specialist and general medical practitioners, medical students, nurses, and allied health professionals involved in the care of patients with persistent pain.

Australian Medicines Handbook
AMH Online via ClinicalKey Australia is an independent, evidence-based national drug reference. It offers concise, reliable and comprehensive information with easy-to-find comparative drug data allowing users to compare drugs and make informed prescribing choices.

ANZCA: Patient Information for Physicians Library Guide
ANZCA Library has compiled a list of high quality, current and authoritative patient information hand-outs and education resources.

Guidelines

The college provides access to a number of resources that provides guidelines-related information.

ANZCA: Professional documents and statements
Our professional documents, statements and guidelines are crucial for promoting the safety and quality of patient care for those undergoing anaesthesia for surgical and other procedures and for those receiving pain medicine treatment.

Therapeutic Guidelines
Therapeutic Guidelines is a leading source of accurate, independent and practical treatment advice for a wide range of clinical conditions.

Trip Database (Pro)
Trip Database (Pro) is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Accessing articles anywhere

If you regularly google information/articles or want an enhanced PubMed experience, then LibKey Nomad++ is the tool for you.

ANZCA: LibKey Nomad++ Library Guide
LibKey Nomad++ allows web users to easily access and read journal articles found anywhere on the web. It also allows for easy requesting of articles where there is no full-text access, and provides on screen messaging where access is available through a different site.

CPD support for private practice

In consultation with the CPD team, the library has created a series of resource support guides covering every aspect of CPD.

I work as a specialist anaesthetist or pain medicine physician in the private sector
I work as a specialist anaesthetist or pain medicine physician in the private sector.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Private practice support document

ANZCA and FPM CPD Program Resources Library Guide
The purpose of this guide is to assist fellows and CPD participants to locate information and resources relevant to their CPD activities, including those resources available through the ANZCA library. The target audience is those with clinical roles.
ANZCA: CPD for Clinical Support Roles Library Guide
The purpose of this resources guide is to assist fellows to match CPD activities with the nature of the work roles that they undertake. The target audience is those with clinical support roles alongside their work with patients (including private practice managers) and those who practice without direct patient care (including private practice researchers).

Research support for private practice

The library provides a number of services and resource support for private practitioners involved in research.

ANZCA: Research Consultation Service
ANZCA Knowledge Resources has a dedicated Research Consultation Service, with aims to develop and deliver research services to fellows, trainees, college staff and other key college stakeholders.
ANZCA: Request a literature search
Request assistance with your literature search, or ask for a literature search to be conducted on your behalf.
ANZCA: Request an article
The article request service provides college fellows, trainees and staff with material that is not available full-text, free-of-charge. This includes copies of journal articles, chapters from books or conference papers required for your research, patient care and learning.
ANZCA: Databases & collections
Access specialised databases and collections such as Medline and PubMed.
Open access publishing opportunities via ANZCA
This guide provides details of the Open Access (OA) publishing options available through the college, allowing for OA publishing of articles at no cost to the author.

Wellbeing support for private practice

The college provides a number of services and resources that can be accessed by private practitioners.

ANZCA: Doctors' Health and Wellbeing
This page contains details of the ANZCA Doctors' Support Program (Converge), health advisory services, and bullying & harassment support, as well as the college's Doctors' Health & Wellbeing Framework.
ANZCA: Wellbeing Advocates
Wellbeing Advocates Networks meet regularly across various Australian regions and in New Zealand, with those in private practice finding these sessions highly valuable.

ANZCA: Wellbeing Library Guide
ANZCA Library has compiled a list of support resources relevant to the general wellbeing of medical practitioners.
ANZCA: Critical Incident Debriefing (CID) Toolkit
Our Critical Incident Debriefing Toolkit provides a comprehensive, evidence-based resource on what are critical incidents, how to provide support and a hot debrief following a critical incident. It can be read in sections or as a whole.

Safety & advocacy support for private practice

The college provides access to a number of services and resources that can be accessed by private practitioners.

ANZCA: Safety & Advocacy Hub
This hub brings together resources related to safety, standards of practice - including anaesthetic incident reporting (webAIRS), critical incident debriefing, advocacy, and indigenous and global health, including those resources available through the ANZCA library.

webAIRS
webAIRS stands for web-based Anaesthetic Incident Reporting System. It's an online reporting tool available to all anaesthetic departments in Australia and New Zealand. The system was developed by the Australian and New Zealand Tripartite Anaesthetic Data Committee (ANZTADC).

Running a private practice

Please Note: The providers listed below are for informational purposes only. The college does not endorse nor maintain any ongoing relationship with any of the providers listed.

Setting up a practice

Preparation for Practice: A Guide for Younger Fellows, 5e by Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
Publication Date: 2015

DPM: Checklist for setting up a private practice
Fast Tracking: Top Tips for Anaesthetists Starting a Successful Private Practice
GPsupport: Setting Up a Medical Practice in Australia
MDA national: A brief guide to setting up in private practice
MIPS: Legal Guide to Setting Up a Private Practice
RANZCP: Opening a practice
Solo Practice Management: Anaesthetist's Private Practice - Expert guide to set up
SprintLaw: A Legal Guide To Running A Medical Practice (2025 Updated)
ZedMed: Setting Up a Medical Practice in Australia – A Checklist
Zento Group: Resource Centre
The Zento Group has a series of short videos specifically oriented for anaesthetists.

Billing and Payment Services

ASA: Anaesthetic Billing Explained - Relative Value Guide

Patient experience

CPD Resources: Patient Experience Survey
Information and resourcing related to collecting information on the patient experience.

Keeping current

Struggling with keeping up-to-date with your journal reading? We recommend the following tools for the time poor!

Read by QxMD [App]
Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content, and the ability to request articles for non-subscribed content. For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly-published articles and claiming time spent for CPD purposes.

See our Read by QxMD guide for more information including full access details

Check out the 2 Minute Summaries Feed!
CPD Note: For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

BrowZine [App]
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

See our BrowZine guide for more information including full access details

Podcasts

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App]
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

ANZCA: Apps Library Guide
This guide highlights a number of apps that may be of use to medical professionals, including a number of ANZCA Library subscribed apps.
ANZCA: Podcasts Library Guide
This guide displays podcasts related to anaesthesia, pain medicine and other areas that might be useful to medical professionals.

Creating a journal club

The BJA Education article below sets out the steps to creating a successful journal club. Also included are guides for 2 separate health services outlining the steps and resources often available at the local level.

We recommend the use of Read by QxMD (see above) as a way of creating a curated new article alerts service
We recommend the use of BrowZine (see above) as a way of reading the latest issue of your favourite journals

Eusuf D, Shelton C. Establishing and sustaining an effective journal club. BJA Educ. 2022 Feb;22(2):40-42.

Monash Health: Journal Clubs
Guide focussed on journal club creation.
NT Health: Starting a Journal Club
This guide has been developed to support NT Health staff who would like to start a Journal Club.

A Guide to Leading a Journal Club by Monash Health
Publication Date: 2010