Library resource guides: Anaesthesia training resources: Starting out

Guide index

Home Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources

Overview

Starting out

Roles in practice

Clinical fundamentals

Specialised study units

Assessment

Courses

Books & journals

Podcasts & online lectures

Apps

Social networking & support

Post-training resources

Cultural safety

Other resources

Course overview

Overview of the ANZCA anaesthetic training pathway.

Training as an anaesthetist
Your guide to training as a specialist anaesthetist in Australia or New Zealand, including the criteria, application process and cost.
Anaesthetic Training Pathway
Monash University has an excellent overview of the anaesthetic training pathway.

Please Note: the fees mentioned on this document are out-of-date - please refer to this page for the most up-to-date fee information.

Key texts

Recommended resources are listed below.

ANZCA Handbook for Training by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v2.7 February 2023
ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.12 December 2023
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by Rathie, Lachlan
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 17 February 2023
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.

Anaesthesia trainee toolkit

Access all the resources, documents, and forms you need to meet your training requirements.

Training program documents
The requirements of the anaesthesia training program are detailed in these documents, and includes the curriculum and handbook.
Training and TPS forms
A list of application forms and checklists relevant to trainees and the training program, plus TPS-related forms.
Scholar role activities - Evaluation forms and Guidelines
Numerous forms covering the various scholar role activities.
Provisional fellowship training
PFT-related application forms.
Other training & exams resources
Looking for resources to help you prepare for your PEx or FEx? Prof docs? Reading lists? Here's everything else you need.
Social networking
A number of our trainee committees have set up closed Facebook groups. Find out what's available in your area.

Acronyms

An updated list of common college and medical community acronyms.

Common college and medical community acronyms

Access/request anywhere

Enable access to ANZCA library journal article full-text anywhere on the web coupled with on-screen resource access prompts.

ANZCA: LibKey Nomad++ Library Guide
LibKey Nomad++ allows web users to easily access and read journal articles found anywhere on the web. It also allows for easy requesting of articles where there is no full-text access, and provides on screen messaging where access is available through a different site.

Learn@ANZCA

Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system. The system contains numerous courses and resources which will be of interest to trainees.

Use the links below to access additional support resources contained on the Learn @ANZCA platform.

Note: Some resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.

Introduction to Anaesthesia training [Learn@ANZCA]
Highly recommended
The Introduction to Anaesthesia Training Course is run yearly in all regions and New Zealand to welcome new trainees into the ANZCA training program. The course is a face-to-face, full day event aimed at providing introductory trainees with information that is relevant to them and their training. It is also a fantastic opportunity to meet other trainees in the training program and build friendships and connections.

To find out when the course will be run in your region, please contact your local ANZCA office. If you are a trainee and are unable to attend Introduction to Anaesthesia Training Course, you can access some of the course presentations and resources under trainee resources.

Holistic approach to anaesthesia [Learn@ANZCA]
This course contains various videos and resources designed to assist Anaesthesia and FPM trainees navigate through their clinical and non clinical lives.

Training e-Portfolio

The online portfolio system designed to record training experiences by and for trainees.

ANZCA training portfolio system (TPS)
The TPS is an online portfolio system specifically designed for the ANZCA training program which allows trainees and ANZCA supervisors to record and track progress throughout training.

TPS tutorial videos [Learn@ANZCA]
ANZCA has developed a series of instructional videos for a wide range of tasks and activities. The videos have been separated into different sections to help you find what you are looking for. Each video has been developed with you in mind, assisting you from the moment you log in, to the moment you complete your task.

Courses

Recommended courses for new trainees.

ABCs of Anaesthesia: Boot Camp Series
The ABCs of Anaesthesia Boot Camp has grown into a series of interactive lectures covering all the important concepts, frameworks and knowledge you need to know in your first 12 months of anaesthesia.
ABCs of Anaesthesia: Foundations
This course provides trainees with crucial knowledge, frameworks, practical skills and exposure to establish solid foundations as a specialist anaesthetist.