The specialised study units define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for the anaesthetic management of patients in specific contexts.
They are: Cardiac surgery and interventional cardiology; General surgical, urological, gynaecological and endoscopic procedures; Head and neck, ear nose and throat, dental surgery and electro-convulsive therapy; Intensive care; Neurosurgery and neuroradiology; Obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia; Ophthalmic procedures; Orthopaedic surgery; Paediatric anaesthesia; Plastic, reconstructive and burns surgery; Thoracic surgery; Vascular surgery and interventional radiology.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to these specialities.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
Intensive care medicine
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional intensive care medicine resources can be accessed via the Intensive care medicine guide.
Key texts
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8e by 
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e by
Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e, provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based knowledge for specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. Drs. Craig M. Lilly, Walter A. Boyle, and Richard S. Irwin, along with a team of expert contributing authors and education expert, William F. Kelly, offer authoritative, comprehensive guidance from an interprofessional, collaborative, educational, and scholarly perspective, encompassing all adult critical care specialties. Provides easy access to evidence-based critical care practice; Offers a practical, clinically oriented approach to intensive care, with detailed descriptions of procedures, incorporating new ultrasound and how-to videos that can easily be accessed in the eBook; Key points are identified at the beginning of each chapter and in the margins of the text; Key references chosen by the author experts are highlighted at the end of each chapter.
Recommended texts
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by
The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
Case Files: Critical Care, 2e by
Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files Critical Care, Second Edition provides 42 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in critical care. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize.
Civetta, Taylor, & Kirby's Critical Care Medicine, 5e by
Covering every problem encountered in today's intensive care unit, this leading critical care textbook presents the knowledge and expertise of more than 350 global experts in this fast-changing field. Beginning with the social aspects of medicine, it then discusses monitoring and organ system pathobiology followed by specific diseases states/syndromes.
Critical Care Compendium: 1001 Topics in Intensive Care & Acute Medicine by
Uncommon clinical problems can present serious challenges in any medical specialty, particularly in those areas providing acute care. Bringing together all uncommon problems relevant to the treatment of seriously ill patients in a quick one-stop reference, this book is an easy-to-use and practical reference for the clinician at any level faced with an uncommon acute medical problem at the bedside. Using a popular A-Z format, over 1000 entries reflect the current breadth of the specialty's extension to hospital-wide issues of acute care. Each topic contains both essential diagnostic and treatment information and discusses the implications for intensive care management. Extensive cross-referencing throughout aids rapid access to key information and the use of cartoons enhances learning. The book offers a source of reference for the many issues so often overlooked in major textbooks, which can be difficult not only to locate elsewhere but also for experienced clinicians to remember in detail. An invaluable resource within a single volume for intensivists, anaesthetists, emergency specialists, and a wide range of other healthcare professionals.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3e by
Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3e. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence.
The Final FFICM Structured Oral Examination Study Guide by
This book is the definitive guide to the Final Fellowship of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FFICM) Structured Oral Examination. With a broad coverage of the clinical curriculum, it equips candidates to tackle this challenging examination. Each chapter contains sample questions with concise answers, focusing on key concepts to facilitate deeper understanding. The content is organised by subject, enabling more structured revision in an easy-to-use format. This text provides references to guidance that will remain relevant in the ever-changing landscape of intensive care medicine. Not only is this book an essential resource for studying intensivists but it also forms a useful reference for any professional encountering the world of critical care in their practice.
Hall, Schmidt and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, 5e by
Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic.
ICU Quick Drug Guide by
This handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians.
MCQs and SBAs in Intensive Care Medicine by
Prepare with confidence for the FFICM and EDIC with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original multiple choice (MCQ) and single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole FICM curricula. Organized into ten practice papers so readers can practice the style and format of the real exam, questions cover a broad range of intensive care topics for postgraduate exams. Each answer includes a full explanation, up-to-date evidence-based guidelines and sources for further reading to ensure high-quality self-assessment. This invaluable resource provides intensive care medicine trainees with an ideal companion for the FFICM and EDIC and other postgraduate critical care exams.
Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care by
Respiratory critical care is essential to modern critical care medicine. To successfully support critically ill patients, an understanding of specific lung conditions and syndromes, their pathophysiological basis, and evidence-based management strategies is of vital importance. The Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care provides an authoritative account of respiratory critical care medicine with a clear focus on how to manage respiratory disease inthe critically ill.The fundamentals of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment, for respiratory diseases and conditions are outlined with a specific focus on management in the criticalcare setting. Across 66 chapters, common and unusual respiratory conditions are included as well as those aspects of pulmonary disease in which the management in critical illness is unique. The text equips the reader with up-to-date knowledge of clinical practice for the respiratory system, lung diseases within critical care medicine and the impact of critical illness on lung biology.Each chapter highlights advances in the field as well as emphasising the importance ofgetting the basics right. Key messages, controversies, and directions to further research points allow both focused reading and deeper engagement. A dedicated chapter to COVID-19, and sections throughoutexplore the impact of this novel virus in specific areas of respiratory critical care. Edited and written by an international group of recognized experts from many disciplines, this essential textbook is relevant to medics globally. This is an indispensable guide for clinicians, researchers and nurses working in Critical Care, Anaesthesia, Respiratory Medicine, Acute Medicine, and Emergency Medicine.
Textbook of Critical Care, 8e by
Bridging the gap between medical and surgical specialties in critical care, Textbook of Critical Care, 8e, offers a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the effective management of adult and paediatric patients in the ICU. A full-colour art program, relevant basic science and key summary points in every chapter, and expert contributing authors from all over the world make this an indispensable resource for every member of the critical care team.
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care by
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care is a narrative on accommodating an overwhelming surge of critically ill patients from pandemics, natural disasters, or war, while ensuring the safety of the healthcare staff. A crisis standard of care is when resources are limited. Triage models are used to provide treatment based on the best level of evidence for the available resources. Inspired by coronavirus disease 2019, the narrative is driven by this pandemic. The initial approach for any crisis is similar. However, each cause of crisis can have unique challenges.
Key journals
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA resource guides
Websites
Recommended websites are listed below.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
