The specialised study units define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for the anaesthetic management of patients in specific contexts.
They are: Cardiac surgery and interventional cardiology; General surgical, urological, gynaecological and endoscopic procedures; Head and neck, ear nose and throat, dental surgery and electro-convulsive therapy; Intensive care; Neurosurgery and neuroradiology; Obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia; Ophthalmic procedures; Orthopaedic surgery; Paediatric anaesthesia; Plastic, reconstructive and burns surgery; Thoracic surgery; Vascular surgery and interventional radiology.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to these specialities.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
Obstetric anaesthesia & analgesia
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional obstetric anaesthesia & analgesia resources can be accessed via the Obstetric anaesthesia guide.
Key texts
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia : Principles and Practice, 6e by
Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes.
Recommended texts
Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy: A Practical Guide, 4e by
Now in its fourth edition, Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy is a concise guide to obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia. This essential text reviews every topic and clinical challenge faced during delivery and focuses on pre-empting problems and maximising quality of care. It also covers acute emergencies related to pregnancy. This new edition features eleven new chapters that cover the significant updates in the field over the last few years. Presented in a clearly structured format, this practical guide will be an invaluable source of key information for any anaesthetist encountering obstetric patients, whether they are a practised consultant or still in training.
Anesthesia for Maternal-Fetal Surgery: Concepts and Clinical Practice by
This essential book discusses the different birth defects that can be treated during pregnancy and the important anaesthetic considerations for the mother and foetus undergoing these procedures. Experts in the fields of anaesthesiology, maternal foetal medicine, surgery, and paediatrics have come together to develop the content of this book.
Epidural Technique in Obstetric Anesthesia by
This book represents a unique and substantial guide, and will bring anaesthesiologists up-to-date on advances in the neuraxial technique and its applications in obstetrics. Today the epidural block is almost exclusively of interest to obstetric anesthesiologists, and how it is taught increasingly coincides with its applications in obstetrics.
Essentials of Anesthesia for Infants and Neonates by
Essentials of Anesthesia for Infants and Neonates provides a comprehensive guide to the special needs of infants undergoing anesthesia. It focuses on the first year of life, the time when anesthesia mortality and morbidity is highest.
Obstetric Anaesthesia, 2e by
The Oxford Specialist Handbook in Obstetric Anaesthesia returns for a second edition with updated practical management advice for medical and nursing staff in a portable, accessible format. An invaluable quick-reference resource for all consultant anaesthetists and SAS doctors involved in obstetric anaesthesia, as well as a succinct exam revision aid for the FRCA, this go-to guide provides incisive coverage of all aspects of the sub-specialty.
Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides by
This succinct, evidence-based guide provides everything you need to provide safe, effective care to pregnant women in subacute and emergent situations A quick-reference guide designed for on-the-spot clinical guidance, Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides fills a gap in the current literature by distilling the information of a comprehensive textbook into a quick review and providing standard instructions that can be integrated into everyday practice.
Obstetric Anesthesia and Uncommon Disorders, 3e by
A thoroughly revised third edition of the acclaimed textbook for caregivers involved in the management of pregnant women with uncommon diseases or an unusual or rare condition. The book offers valuable case reports and experience collated by an international team of editors and contributors who are leading experts in the field. This edition contains five additional chapters covering topics like cardiac and neuraxial point of care ultrasound, substance abuse, rare inherited conditions, and anesthesia for rare foetal and placental conditions. Clear, concise management guidelines and algorithms are provided, and each chapter is written from the viewpoint of the obstetric anaesthetist. Numerous tables, figures and photographs provide visual aids and each chapter contains valuable clinical insights highlighting the essential facts. Featuring updated figures and references, links to useful websites for further reading and a list of commonly used abbreviations.
Obstetric Anesthesia for Co-Morbid Conditions by
This book presents general measures and offers a comprehensive overview of anesthetic considerations for specific serious medical problems in pregnant patients, with a focus on the anesthetic management of non-obstetric disorders during pregnancy and pregnancy-induced diseases. Although many books on this topic are available, this unique volume addresses specific disorders that may be encountered in daily obstetric anesthesia practice and discusses in detail serious medical problems during pregnancy. As such it is a valuable tool, providing targeted information particularly on the anesthetic considerations and management of not only non-obstetric diseases during pregnancy but also pregnancy- induced diseases.
Obstetric Anesthesiology: An Illustrated Case-Based Approach by
This book provides concise, case-based discussion on the clinical scenarios and challenges faced in the provision of anesthesia and pain relief for expectant mothers. In the style of problem-based learning, each case is presented as a short scenario, followed by discussion of the causes, risk factors, management and controversies involved. The textbook features a wide range of cases, from common clinical scenarios that are experienced in day-to-day practice to the rare but significant pathologies less familiar to most clinicians.
Oxford Textbook of Obstetric Anaesthesia by
The Oxford Textbook of Obstetric Anaesthesia provides an up-to-date summary of the scientific basis, assessment for and provision of anaesthesia throughout pregnancy and labour. This highly authoritative textbook is conceptually divided into nine sections, detailing maternal and foetal physiology, foetal and neonatal assessment and therapy, anaesthesia before and during pregnancy, labour and vaginal delivery, anaesthesia for caesarean delivery, anaesthetic and obstetric complications, as well as systemic disease.
Quick Hits in Obstetric Anesthesia by
This book provides easy to follow guidance on how to manage emergency situations and common problems in obstetric anesthesia. The book provides different anaesthetic recipes for obstetric procedures and describes challenges that will be encountered on a day-to-day basis. There are trouble-shooting chapters and 'what to o lists' for frequent dilemmas.
Shnider and Levinson's Anesthesia for Obstetrics, 5e by
Now in a fully updated Fifth Edition, Shnider and Levinson's Anesthesia for Obstetrics, continues to provide the comprehensive coverage that has made it the leading reference in the field. The rising number of Cesarean births and the more advanced age of first-time mothers in the United States have brought with them an increased risk for complications, making the role of the obstetric anesthesiologist increasingly important.Procedures
Williams Obstetrics, 26e by
Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights
Key journals
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents and joint statements are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
RANZCOG
RANZCOG has a large number of statements and guidelines related to obstetrics available via it's college website. Selected resources have been highlighted below.
Other recommended guidelines & resources
ANZCA resource guides
Podcasts
Neonatal resuscitation courses
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
