The specialised study units define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for the anaesthetic management of patients in specific contexts.
They are: Cardiac surgery and interventional cardiology; General surgical, urological, gynaecological and endoscopic procedures; Head and neck, ear nose and throat, dental surgery and electro-convulsive therapy; Intensive care; Neurosurgery and neuroradiology; Obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia; Ophthalmic procedures; Orthopaedic surgery; Paediatric anaesthesia; Plastic, reconstructive and burns surgery; Thoracic surgery; Vascular surgery and interventional radiology.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to these specialities.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
General surgical procedures
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional general surgical procedures resources can be accessed via the Anaesthesia essentials guide.
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care of the High-Risk Patient, 3e by
The fully updated third edition of this popular handbook provides a concise summary of perioperative management of high-risk surgical patients. Written by an international group of senior clinicians, chapters retain the practical nature of previous editions, with concise text in a bulleted format offering rapid access to key facts and advice.
Complications in Bariatric Surgery by
This text focuses on the complications following bariatric surgery. The focus is on the immediate and long term complications that would be important to both the general surgeon and those surgeons with specialty experience in bariatric surgery.
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 5e by
Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter.
Perioperative Pain Control: Tools for Surgeons: A Practical, Evidence-Based Pocket Guide by
Written by experts in the field. Includes a review of evidence-based alternatives to opioids. Provides information and guidelines to managing chronic pain within each surgical specialty.
Yao & Artusio’s Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 9e by
Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management is the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management.
Urological & gynaecological procedures
Recommended resources are listed below.
Robotic Urologic Surgery by
This heavily revised third edition gives an essential textbook which provides a comprehensive guide to robotic surgical techniques in urology. Updated chapters cover general aspects of surgery such as aspects of operating room preparation and anesthesia. Instructions on how to use a variety of the latest techniques for procedures associated with the kidney, prostate, bladder and testicle are covered. Detailed information on how to improve outcomes, avoid potential complications and pitfalls is also provided. Instructive video clips assist the reader in being able to visualize how to enhance their methodologies further.
Textbook of Gynecologic Robotic Surgery by
This book is not only a compilation of the knowledge and experiences of the best robotic surgeons around the world, but it has also incorporated the recent advances and updates in Gynaecological surgery. It is designed to provide a detailed guide to common robotic Gynaecologic procedures for the purpose of helping novice surgeons in their transition to robotic surgery and seasoned robotic surgeons to refine their surgical technique and expand their repertoire of robotic procedures.
Endoscopic procedures
Recommended resources are listed below.
Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia, 1e by
Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia compiles the many recent advances in thoracic anaesthesiology into one convenient, easy-to-use reference. Concise, clinically focused chapters written by international authorities in the field cover all facets of anaesthesia practice for thoracic procedures, logically organized by preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative considerations.
Gynaecological Endoscopic Surgery: Basic Concepts by
This textbook embraces most aspects of gynaecological laparoscopy and hysteroscopy and it aims to present a comprehensive coverage of gynaecological minimal access surgeries with excellent medical illustrations. The reader is taken on a journey that includes the history of minimal access surgery, instrumentation and ergonomics required to progress in the field, capturing practical learning steps and navigating the reader through the diagnostic and therapeutic applications. In addition, it describes the latest technological advancement in the field, backed with high current best evidence. The authors are practicing specialists drawn from five continents who brought their wealth of experience and expertise to bear in this book. This textbook targets a global audience of practicing and trainee doctors in general gynaecology, subspecialists, and those with relevant special interests in gynaecological endoscopy surgery.
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 8e by ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA resource guides
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
