Library resource guides: Anaesthesia training resources: Perioperative medicine

Guide index

Home Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources

Overview

Starting out

Roles in practice

Clinical fundamentals

Specialised study units

Assessment

Courses

Books & journals

Podcasts & online lectures

Apps

Social networking & support

Post-training resources

Cultural safety

Other resources

POM texts

Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by Steve Yentis; Nicholas P. Hirsch; James Ip The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
ISBN: 9780702071652
Publication Date: 2018-05-18
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care of the High-Risk Patient, 3e by McConachie, Ian [ed] The fully updated third edition of this popular handbook provides a concise summary of perioperative management of high-risk surgical patients. Written by an international group of senior clinicians, chapters retain the practical nature of previous editions, with concise text in a bulleted format offering rapid access to key facts and advice.
ISBN: 9781139629362
Publication Date: 2014
Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6e by Lee A. Fleisher Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with new information on less commonly seen diseases and conditions, including the latest evidence and management guidelines. This unique medical reference book is essential for a complete understanding of today's best options and potential difficulties in anesthesia.
Call Number: 617.96 ANE
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781437727876
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach, 3e by Jesse M. Ehrenfeld; Richard D. Urman; B. Scott Segal [eds]
ISBN: 9783030986742
Publication Date: 2022-10-20
This comprehensive update of the previous two successful editions covers both basic and advanced anesthesia topics. These include pharmacology, procedures, monitoring, equipment, subspecialty anesthesia, safety, professionalism, pain management, and more. Contains sections on ERAS and POSH.
Complications in Anesthesia, 3e by Fleisher LA; Rosenbaum SH
Call Number: 617.96041 COM
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781455704118
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
Note: Create a ClinicalKey personal profile to access/download PDF chapters.
Consent, Benefit, and Risk in Anaesthetic Practice [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by Jonathan G. Hardman; Iain K. Moppett; Alan R. Aitkenhead [eds] Patients' expectations regarding involvement in their own healthcare have increased dramatically over the past few years. No longer is it acceptable for the doctor to dictate treatment; patients demand information regarding treatment options, and input into the selection of the most appropriate treatment plan.
Call Number: 617.96041 CON
Note: Users will need to CREATE A LOGIN, and then BORROW text to access.
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9780199296873
Publication Date: 2009-05-03
Core Topics in Preoperative Anaesthetic Assessment and Management by A. Agatha Crerar-Gilbert; Mark MacGregor [eds] Part of the popular Core Topics series, this book provides a practical guide to pre-operative assessment for consultants and trainee anaesthetists. Chapters cover comprehensive evidence-based guidance for assessing and managing patients with particular conditions, as well as perioperative risk stratification and challenges of pre-assessment.
ISBN: 9781316216385
Publication Date: 2018-03-14
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls by Steven L. Cohn Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities undergoing surgical procedures. It provides preoperative validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for identified comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and challenging perioperative cases.
ISBN: 9781260468106
Publication Date: 2021-03-16
The ECG Made Easy, 9e by John R Hampton; Joanna Hampton This popular practical text provides a readable guide to ECG interpretation, with an emphasis on straightforward application. It is written in simple language to demystify the subject, and now includes sample 12-lead ECGs for reference.
ISBN: 9780702075049
Publication Date: 2019
Enhanced Recovery after Surgery: A Complete Guide to Optimizing Outcomes by Olle Ljungqvist; Nader Francis; Richard D. Urman [eds] Written by experts in the field, chapters analyse elements of care that are both generic and specific to various surgeries. It covers the patient journey through such a program, commencing with optimization of the patient's condition, patient education, and conditioning of their expectations. Organized into nine parts, this book discusses metabolic responses to surgery, anaesthetic contributions, and optimal fluid management after surgery. Chapters are supplemented with examples of ERAS pathways and practical tips on post-operative pain control, feeding, mobilization, and criteria for discharge.
ISBN: 9783030334420
Publication Date: 2020-03-31
Pediatric and Adult Anesthesiology Simulation Education: A Curriculum for Residents by Claire Sampankanpanich Soria; Suraj Trivedi [eds] This book helps prepare anaesthesiology residents for safe practice of paediatric anesthesia. It features 26 index cases, which are classic clinical scenarios - all covering a spectrum of paediatric anesthesia, neuro-anesthesia, cardiac anesthesia, regional anesthesia, and anesthesia and critical care medicine.
ISBN: 9783030953379
Publication Date: 2022-04-12

Risk assessment

Recommended POM risk calculator websites and articles are listed below.

Risk assessment links

ACS Risk Calculator
With this tool you can enter preoperative information about your patient to provide estimates regarding your patient's risk of postoperative complications.
P-POSSUM Scoring - Risk Prediction in Surgery
The purpose of these pages is to provide surgeons with the ability to calculate a P-POSSUM score for their general surgical patients online to enable them to provide further information on risk in terms of morbidity and mortality. There is also a wealth of general information on risk prediction in surgery.

Silvapulle E, Darvall J. Objective methods for preoperative assessment of functional capacity. BJA Educ. 2022;22(8):312-320. Keywords: exercise test; postoperative complications; risk assessment.
Hanley C, Wijeysundera DN. Perioperative risk assessment - focus on functional capacity. Curr Opin Anaesthesiol. 2021;34(3):309-316. Preoperative Care; Risk Assessment
more...less...
Abstract
Purpose of review: This review examines how functional capacity informs preoperative risk stratification, as well as strengths and limitations of options for estimating functional capacity.

Recent findings: Functional capacity (or cardiopulmonary fitness) overlaps with other important characteristics, including muscular strength, balance, and frailty. Poor functional capacity is associated with postoperative morbidity, especially noncardiovascular complications. Both patient interviews and exercise tests are used to assess functional capacity. The usual approach of an unstructured patient interview does not predict outcomes. Structured interviews that incorporate validated questionnaires (Duke Activity Status Index) or standardized questions about physical activity (ability to climb stairs) do predict moderate-or-severe complications and cardiovascular complications. Among exercise tests, cardiopulmonary exercise testing (CPET) has shown the most consistent association with risks of complications. Other tests (6-min walk test, incremental shuttle walk test, stair climbing) might predict complications, but still require further high-quality evaluation.

Summary: A straightforward way to better assess functional capacity is a structured interview with validated questionnaires or standardized questions about physical activities. Functional capacity can also be assessed by exercise tests, with the strongest evidence supporting CPET. Although some simpler exercise tests have shown promise, more research remains needed to better define their role in preoperative evaluation.
Minto G, Biccard B. Assessment of the high-risk perioperative patient. Continuing education in anaesthesia, critical care & pain. 2014;14(1):12-17. Preop Assessment

UpToDate

Recommended UTD links are listed below. Note: Please access via your local hospital network. No access via ANZCA.

UTD links

UpToDate: Perioperative Medication Management

ANZCA professional documents

Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.

Prof dox links

PG07(A) Guideline on pre-anaesthesia consultation and patient preparation (2023) The purpose of this document is to assist doctors with assessment and preparation of patients being considered for surgery.
PG07(A)BP Guideline on pre-anaesthesia consultation and patient preparation (Background Paper 2023)
PG07(A) Guideline on pre-anaesthesia consultation and patient preparation. Appendix 3 - Guideline on smoking as related to the perioperative period (2023) The purpose of this guideline is to advocate for smoking cessation and advise on measures to be considered, as well as optimisation of timing in the perioperative context.
PG12(POM) Guideline on smoking as related to the perioperative period (2014) [WITHDRAWN]
Note: This content has been incorporated into PG07(A) Pre-anaesthesia consultation - Appendix 3.
PG15(POM) Guideline for the perioperative care of patients selected for day stay procedures (2018) This guideline is intended to assist practitioners and healthcare facilities in the perioperative care of patients presenting for day stay procedures (DSP).
PG46(POM) Guideline on training and practice of perioperative cardiac ultrasound in adults (2014) This document applies to specialist anaesthetists and trainees providing perioperative cardiac ultrasound services to adult patients, or undertaking training and/or supervision of such procedures, and takes effect from the date of its promulgation.
PG60(POM) Guideline on the perioperative management of patients with suspected or proven hypersensitivity to chlorhexidine (2016) This guideline is intended to provide information for healthcare practitioners to assist with perioperative management of patients with proven or suspected hypersensitivity to chlorhexidine.

ASA guidelines

Recommended American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) guidelines are listed below. Additional ASA guidelines, statements ad clinical resources can be accessed via the ASA website.

ASA links

ASA: Physical Status Classification System
The ASA Physical Status Classification System has been in use for over 60 years. The purpose of the system is to assess and communicate a patient’s pre-anesthesia medical co-morbidities. The classification system alone does not predict the perioperative risks, but used with other factors (eg, type of surgery, frailty, level of deconditioning), it can be helpful in predicting perioperative risks.

SAMBA's PONV guidelines are listed below. Additional SAMBA resources can be accessed via the SAMBA Clinical Practice Guidelines page.

SAMBA links

Gan TJ, Belani KG, Bergese S, et al. Fourth Consensus Guidelines for the Management of Postoperative Nausea and Vomiting. Anesth Analg. 2020;131(2):411-448. Developed by the Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia.
Fourth Consensus Guidelines for the Management of Postoperative Nausea and Vomiting: Erratum. Anesth Analg. 2020;131(5):e241.

Perioperative Anaphylaxis Management Guidelines and Resources
This page contains links to the Anaphylaxis Management Guidelines, jointly developed by ANZAAG and ANZCA. There is also a full list of links for the articles from the reference list to support this guideline.

Choosing Wisely Australia

Choosing Wisely Australia resources for health professionals.

Choosing Wisely links

Choosing Wisely: ANZCA

ANZCA resource guides

Resource guide links

ANZCA: Perioperative Medicine Library Guide
This guide has been designed to provide information and resources related to perioperative medicine, including those available through the ANZCA library.
ANZCA: Perioperative Medicine (POM) Training Resources Guide
This guide contains information and resources related the POM Training Program. Note: Some Learn@ANZCA modules are only available to POM trainees.

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

AudioDigest Links (Perioperative)

Challenges in Risk Management for Anesthesiology (28 Oct 2020)
This program aims to improve perioperative risk management, including policies to optimize quality-related metric and appropriate preoperative patient workups.
Establishing a Perioperative Cognitive Screening and Delirium Prevention Program (14 Oct 2021)
This program aims to improve prevention of postoperative delirium including implementing a perioperative delirium prevention bundle that meets the individuals needs
Fundamentals of Preoperative Evaluation (14 Mar 2022)
This program is to improve preoperative evaluation of surgical patients, including assessment tools to calculate patient risk.
Intraoperative Adverse Events (14 Aug 2021)
This program aims to reduce risk for intraoperative adverse events and their sequelae.
Perioperative Management Strategies for COVID-19-Positive Patients (7 Sep 2022)
This program aims to improve the perioperative management of patients with COVID-19 infection.
Practical Guidelines for Preoperative Fasting (14 May 2022)
This program aims to improve surgical outcomes via appropriate perioperative nutrition and fasting, when appropriate..
Preoperative Optimization: What Does It Mean? (21 May 2020)
This program aims to improve the reduction of risk for nerve injuries related to intraoperative positioning and to improve preoperative patient optimization.