The ANZCA Clinical Fundamentals define the fundamental specialty knowledge and skills of anaesthetists applicable across all areas of practice.
They are: general anaesthesia and sedation; airway management; regional and local anaesthesia; perioperative medicine; pain medicine; resuscitation, trauma and crisis management; and safety and quality in anaesthetic practice.
This guide contains resources to aid in developing knowledge and skills in these areas through training.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Pain medicine
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional pain medicine resources can be accessed via the Pain medicine basics guide.
Additional acute pain resources can be found on the Acute Pain guide.
Additional chronic pain resources can be found on the Chronic Pain guide.
Key texts
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by 
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Clinical Pain Management: Acute Pain, 2e by 
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Recommended texts
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4e by
Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Pain Management for Clinicians: A Guide to Assessment and Treatment by
This book focuses on the modern clinical management of acute and chronic pain syndromes. It not only presents information in a clinically illuminating format, but in a manner that is cognizant of the current prescription opioid epidemic.
Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3e by
Learn a multidisciplinary approach to pain management This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, physiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6e by
Presenting all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. It also provides a practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options.
Key journals
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA resource guides
Learn@ANZCA
Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system. The system contains numerous courses and resources which will be of interest to trainees.
Note: Some resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.
Apps
Recommended apps are listed below. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
