The ANZCA Clinical Fundamentals define the fundamental specialty knowledge and skills of anaesthetists applicable across all areas of practice.
They are: general anaesthesia and sedation; airway management; regional and local anaesthesia; perioperative medicine; pain medicine; resuscitation, trauma and crisis management; and safety and quality in anaesthetic practice.
This guide contains resources to aid in developing knowledge and skills in these areas through training.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Regional & local anaesthesia
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional regional & local anaesthesia resources can be accessed via the regional anaesthesia guide.
Key texts
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management: Self-Assessment and Review by
Regional anesthesia and acute pain management protocols are rapidly changing. The introduction of ultrasound in international pain management and regional anesthesia has resulted in significant changes in the practice, management, protocols, techniques applications, and their effects on patient safety and efficacy.
Recommended texts
Anesthesiology In-Training Exam Review: Regional Anesthesia and Chronic Pain by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam. The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches.
Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine: Human Structure, Ultrastructure and 3D Reconstruction Images by
The Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine contains more than 1500 images of unsurpassed quality, most of which have never been published, including scanning electron microscopy images of neuronal ultrastructures, macroscopic sectional anatomy, and three-dimensional images reconstructed from patient imaging studies.
Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e by
The Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e, helps you master the key nerve blocks you need to know to successfully treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes. Focusing on the "how to" details of pain management injection techniques, this bestselling atlas by Dr. Steven D. Waldman equips you to deliver safe, accurate and cost-effective pain relief to your patients using the most clinically appropriate imaging modalities.
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Step-by-step videos and images, board-style review questions, and coverage of new blocks make this highly respected title a must-have reference for clinical practice. Written by Andrew T. Gray, MD, PhD, one of the pioneers of the use of ultrasound to guide needle placement, Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e, shows you how to safely and effectively use the latest methods and applications of this technique.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e by
An ideal clinical reference and learning tool for anaesthesiologists, nurse anaesthetists, and pain management specialists, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e, helps you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise in all areas of this fast-changing field.
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Hadzic's is the most comprehensive colour guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Colour drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice.
Multiple Choice Questions in Regional Anaesthesia, 2e by
This book is aimed at those studying for the European Society of Regional Anesthesia Diploma Examinations, regional anesthesia component of FRCA examinations, and exit examinations for regional anesthesia fellowships. It is also relevant to the regional anesthesia component of US Board examinations and the Canadian fellowships in regional anesthesia.
A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine, 5e by
Originally authored by Michael F. Mulroy, MD, this respected title has helped practitioners provide effective regional anesthesia for nearly 30 years. Now it has been retitled A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine to reflect the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education's recent establishment of Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine as an anesthesiology fellowship. This clinical reference has evolved with the many changes in this subspecialty to continue bringing you the up-to-date, clinically focused, hands-on guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care.
Key journals
Podcasts
Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
Other recommended guidelines
AAGBI recommended guidelines are listed below. Additional AAGBI guidelines can be accessed via the AAGBI Guidelines page.
Quick Reference Handbook: Guidelines for Crisis in Anaesthesia by
The guidelines in this handbook are not intended to be standards of medical care. The ultimate judgement with regard to a particular clinical procedure or treatment plan must be made by the clinician in the light of the clinical data presented and the diagnostic and treatment options available.
ACSQHC recommended safety statements are listed below. Additional ACSQHC resources can be accessed via the ACSQHC Resources page.
ANZCA resource guides
Apps
Recommended apps are listed below. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
