The specialised study units define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for the anaesthetic management of patients in specific contexts.
They are: Cardiac surgery and interventional cardiology; General surgical, urological, gynaecological and endoscopic procedures; Head and neck, ear nose and throat, dental surgery and electro-convulsive therapy; Intensive care; Neurosurgery and neuroradiology; Obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia; Ophthalmic procedures; Orthopaedic surgery; Paediatric anaesthesia; Plastic, reconstructive and burns surgery; Thoracic surgery; Vascular surgery and interventional radiology.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to these specialities.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
Cardiac surgery & interventional cardiology
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional cardiac surgery & interventional cardiology resources can be accessed via the Cardiac thoracic vascular & perfusion (CTVP) guide.
Key texts
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11e by
Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book.
Recommended texts
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach provides a comprehensive review of the dynamic and ever-changing field of cardiac anesthesia. Its problem-based format incorporates a pool of multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Each of its 36 case-based chapters is accompanied by questions and answers, accessible online in a full practice exam. The cases presented are also unique, as each chapter starts with a case description, usually a compilation of several actual cases; it then branches out through case-based questions, to increasingly complex situations. This structure is designed to create an authentic experience that mirrors that of working through the nuances of a complicated clinical scenario. The discussion sections that follow offer a comprehensive approach to the chapter's subject matter, thus creating a modern, complete, and up-to-date medical review of that topic.
Cardiac Anesthesia and Transesophageal Echocardiography, 2e by
Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, 2e is a fast, proven effective way for anaesthesiology trainees to acquire the essential skills and knowledge necessary to successfully navigate the cardiac operating room. Enhanced by more than 100 photographs, nearly 200 carefully rendered line drawings, and illustrative case scenarios, this unique guide imparts the basic principles of both cardiac anaesthesia and echocardiography in a way that reflects the realities of clinical anaesthesia practice.
Cardiopulmonary Bypass: Advances in Extracorporeal Life Support by
Cardiopulmonary Bypass: Advancements in Extracorporeal Life Support provides comprehensive coverage on the technological developments and clinical applications of extracorporeal technologies, including the underlying basic science and the latest clinical advances in the field. Written by experts around the world, this book comprises all characteristics of cardiopulmonary bypass as well as chapters regarding equipment, physiology and pathology, pediatric aspects and clinical applications. Important highlights include the latest updates regarding minimal invasive cardiopulmonary bypass (MICPB), extracorporeal circulatory and respiratory support (ECCRS) in cardiac and non-cardiac patients, ECMO support in COVID-19, and updated guidelines of extracorporeal technologies. This book is an invaluable resource to clinicians, researchers and medical students in the fields of cardiothoracic surgery, cardiac anesthesiology, intensive care, and perfusion technology. Offers comprehensive and cutting-edge knowledge of cardiopulmonary bypass and extracorporeal life support during surgery and non-surgical situations Discusses basic science principles along with practical clinical applications Includes content from authors who are well-known experts in the field, and whose authoritative contributions are invaluable for early-career and experienced practitioners alike.
Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, 3e by
Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, 3e is written to be the field's go-to resource and the standard reference textbook on the topic. It offers concise yet comprehensive coverage of the key principles, concepts, and developing practice of transesophageal echocardiography. Completely updated, reorganized, and expanded, this Third Edition features a sectional format, each containing chapters that were reviewed and revised to provide a comprehensive discussion of physiology, pathophysiology, and echocardiographic approach for normal and common disease states. Where possible, important clinical information has been aligned with the principles of cardiovascular physiology and echocardiographic techniques.
Complications in Anesthesia, 3e by 
Congenital Cardiac Anesthesia: A Case-based Approach by
Written by experts in the field, this highly illustrated book succinctly reviews the pathophysiology of congenital cardiac lesions along with important anaesthetic implications for each. Case scenarios cover patients of wide-ranging ages, with a focus on care in non-cardiac operating room settings, including the general operating room, cardiac catheterization laboratory and radiology.
Core Topics in Cardiac Anaesthesia, 3e by
This fully-updated third edition provides a practical and concise guide to all aspects of the perioperative care of cardiac surgical patients. This is the authoritative text for residents and fellows in anaesthesia and cardiac surgery, clinical perfusionists, and critical care nurses. Updated chapters include regional anaesthesia, paediatric cardiac anaesthesia, and anaesthesia for specific procedures such as aortic valve surgery and cardiac transplantation. An entire section is dedicated to transoesophageal echocardiography (TOE) in recognition of the increasing demand for basic TOE training.
Cunningham's Manual of Practical Anatomy - 2: Thorax and Abdomen, 16e by
The new 16th edition of Cunningham's has been thoroughly revised for the modern-day anatomy student. The language has been simplified for easy understanding making this textbook ideal for students at undergraduate levels. Each dissection reflects current medical school teaching and is now broken down into clear step-by-step instructions. New learning features prepare students for the dissection lab, university examinations and clinical practice. Completely updated full colour artwork brings the friendly explanations to life. Following a logical structure, each chapter explains in a clear friendly manner the key knowledge expected of students. Improved diagrams with clear labelling and full colour illustrate key anatomical features bringing the text to life. Learning objectives introduce each dissection and clear step-by-step instructions make it easy to follow in the dissection lab. Throughout the book new clinical application boxes and radiology images explain how anatomy relates to clinical medical practice. At the end of each part, multiple-choice questions allow students to quickly review their knowledge before checking the answers in the appendix. Student friendly and richly illustrated this new edition of Cunningham's brings expert anatomical teaching to the modern day student of medicine, dentistry and allied health sciences. Retaining the trustworthy authority of the previous editions, this sixteenth edition offers a contemporary account of this excellent practical anatomy book.
Hemostasis and Thrombosis, 4e by
The latest edition of this practical handbook provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of common and rare problems with hemostasis and thrombosis. Through thoroughly updated and revised chapters, the text features practical information on diagnosing and managing troublesome hematologic conditions often found in clinical practice. The handbook also spotlights advances in the field since the publication of the last edition, including multiple novel coagulation factors for hemophilia, the increasing use of novel anticoagulants and their reversal agents, and the increasing use of genetics for diagnosis.
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7e by
Offering a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the field, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7en, edited by Drs. Karsten Bartels, Amanda A. Fox, Andrew D. Shaw, Kimberly Howard-Quijano, and Robert H. Thiele, is an ideal reference and review tool for fellows, residents, and practicing anaesthesiologists. Concisely written and readily accessible, it combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. This edition has been newly reorganized for current practice patterns and to better align with the ACGME requirements for adult cardiothoracic anaesthesiology.
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care, 8e by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8e, offers practical guidance from today’s international leaders in cardiac anaesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today’s clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology.
Oxford Textbook of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia by
The new Oxford Textbook of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia provides a comprehensive overview of and a thorough grounding in this challenging subspecialty. Both cardiac and thoracic anaesthesia demand high levels of knowledge and skill, as minimally invasive surgical techniques demand a sounder understanding of the specialties and as more patients with co-morbidities present for surgery.
A Practical Approach to Transesophageal Echocardiography, 4e by
With updated content and new expert contributors, A Practical Approach to Transesophageal Echocardiography, 4e is every clinician's go-to reference for TEE skill-building. The book is written concisely, so you can quickly digest and apply critical information in a real clinical setting. Numerous figures throughout each chapter and hundreds of video clips on the eBook paint an important visual picture, illuminating the textual explanations and instructions.
Key journals
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA resource guides
Goodman & Gilman's Cardiac Animations
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
