The ANZCA Clinical Fundamentals define the fundamental specialty knowledge and skills of anaesthetists applicable across all areas of practice.
They are: general anaesthesia and sedation; airway management; regional and local anaesthesia; perioperative medicine; pain medicine; resuscitation, trauma and crisis management; and safety and quality in anaesthetic practice.
This guide contains resources to aid in developing knowledge and skills in these areas through training.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
General anaesthesia & sedation
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional general anaesthesia resources can be accessed via the Anaesthesia essentials guide.
Additional resources on pharmacology can be found on the Primary Exam Recommended Reading List.
Additional drug information resources can be found on the Drug Information guide.
Key texts
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 5e by
Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter.
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia, 7e by
The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities.
Recommended texts
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by
The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy: A Practical Guide, 4e by
Now in its fourth edition, Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy is a concise guide to obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia. This essential text reviews every topic and clinical challenge faced during delivery and focuses on pre-empting problems and maximising quality of care. It also covers acute emergencies related to pregnancy. This new edition features eleven new chapters that cover the significant updates in the field over the last few years. Presented in a clearly structured format, this practical guide will be an invaluable source of key information for any anaesthetist encountering obstetric patients, whether they are a practised consultant or still in training.
Anesthesiology, 3e by
Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, 3e provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine.
Australasian Anaesthesia 2023 by 
Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, 2e by
The full-colour Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, significantly updated for this second edition, combines patient safety information and evidence-based guidance for over 300 commonly encountered clinical situations. With a format that suggests conversations between an attending and a trainee, the book helps you identify potential problems and develop a treatment plan to minimize the problem.
Cambridge Handbook of Anesthesiology by
The recent advances in the clinical practice of anesthesiology have increased the need for a new state-of-the art anesthesia handbook for practicing anesthesiologists, trainees and students. This practical book provides a modern, clinically focused guide for any clinical question related to anesthesia care, presenting comprehensive, yet succinct knowledge from experts in the field. It describes the best practice in a concise yet easily digestible format and features numerous tables and figures, a bulleted points/outline format, and algorithms allowing for rapid assimilation of key information. New techniques and common procedures are also covered in detail. This up-to-date pocketbook is perfect for quick reference in the operating room, providing rapid access to evidence-based clinical content covering the full breadth of the field, including pediatric, obstetric, cardiac and regional anesthesia sections. In addition to daily clinical practice, the book serves also as a convenient companion for board review and recertification exam preparation.
Case Files: Anesthesiology by
Case Files: Anesthesiology contains 53 high-yield cases with open-ended questions. Each case includes an extended discussion, definitions, clinical Pearls, 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature for further reading.
Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by
This well-illustrated new resource is the most concise and high-yield presentation of physiology topics available to the anaesthesia provider. The bulk of the text is dedicated to cardiovascular and respiratory physiology. Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice distinguishes itself from general medical physiology books by the inclusion of case studies and clinical correlation boxed inserts that emphasize key fact that relate to real-world practice.
Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s: A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e by
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia and sedation strategies for young patients. This text reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of paediatric anesthesia.
Decision Making in Anesthesiology: An Algorithmic Approach, 5e by
The 5th edition of this book has been fully revised with the latest advances in anaesthesia practice. Each chapter presents a step by step decision making algorithm with explanatory text and supplemental tables, providing clinicians and trainees with answers for nearly 250 anaesthetic management problems. General principles in anaesthesia care are discussed, as well as detailed examination of preoperative problems, anaesthesia in surgical specialty areas, postoperative management, and perioperative management.
Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e by
The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organisation allows rapid access to specific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs.
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e by
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e, is your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Hadzic's is the most comprehensive colour guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Colour drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice.
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 6e by 
Maths, Physics and Clinical Measurement for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book covers these core topics in a logical and structured format, creating a more enjoyable learning experience that is accessible and easy to digest. Each chapter opens with a set of learning objectives and summary of chapter contents. Following this is a clinical scenario that relates to the themes of the chapter and a number of hypothetical questions relating to the scenario are laid-out. Clinical pearls are presented in boxes for more advanced learning opportunities. Each chapter closes with a set of MCQ or SBA self-test questions to test the readers' knowledge of the chapter. This book covers everything needed for the FFICM and FRCA exams, making it an essential text for exam candidates, tutors, and those working in theatres, anaesthesia and the ICU.
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance, 9e by
The internationally best-selling Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is the ideal companion for all medical and healthcare students, providing a visual overview of pharmacology, and describing the basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption, and excretion. Clear and accessible chapters organised around common diseases and conditions facilitate efficient clinical learning, and include references to drug classes and side effects, disease pathophysiology, prescribing guidelines, and more. Now in its ninth edition, this leading guide has been thoroughly updated to reflect current guidelines and drug information. This edition features new and revised illustrations, additional pedagogical tools, and enhanced online content. Widely recognised as both the best introduction to medical pharmacology and the perfect revision tool for USMLE and pharmacology exams, this invaluable guide: Covers a wide range of drugs used to treat conditions such as hypertension, anaemias, cancer, and affective disorders Explains drug mechanisms and the principles of drug action Discusses practical topics including drug misuse, drug indications, and side effects Includes a companion website featuring online cases, flashcards, and a list of core drugs
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e by
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e is an essential resource for all anaesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook by
A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine. Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. This new abridged resource serves as a high-yield review of the core content of the larger text, with bolded key concepts for ease of reference, Q&A, and more. * Convenient, abridged version--less than half the length of origin text * Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A.
An Overview of TCI and TIVA, 3e by
An Overview of TCI and TIVA is an invaluable source of information on the practice of total intravenous anesthesia (TIVA) with or without target-controlled infusion (TCI) technology. In this long-awaited third edition of their popular book they have maintained the small size while thoroughly updating it to include recent developments and insights in the field, many of which have emerged from the work of their own research group.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e by
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anaesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice.
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Exam Guide 2, 2e by 
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6e by 
Taking on TIVA: Debunking Myths and Dispelling Misunderstandings by
"We have a geographically diverse collection of authors who have helped us to present the most important topics in TIVA in a clear and easily readable style. Our vision is to empower readers to start or continue using this technique. Ideally this should be in young, healthy patients undergoing relatively straightforward surgery without the use of muscle relaxants"-- Provided by publisher.
Key journals
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
Other recommended guidelines
ANZICS recommended professional documents are listed below. Additional ANZICS resources can be accessed via the ANZICS CLABSI page.
SAMBA's PONV guidelines are listed below. Additional SAMBA resources can be accessed via the SAMBA Clinical Practice Guidelines page.
ANZCA resource guides
Human anatomy
AccessMedicine includes interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.
Additionally, there a number of discrete anatomy tours for areas of the body including the brain, muscles and nerves, the spine and many more.
Courses
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Want to access BJA Ed online exams? See the 