The specialised study units define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for the anaesthetic management of patients in specific contexts.
They are: Cardiac surgery and interventional cardiology; General surgical, urological, gynaecological and endoscopic procedures; Head and neck, ear nose and throat, dental surgery and electro-convulsive therapy; Intensive care; Neurosurgery and neuroradiology; Obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia; Ophthalmic procedures; Orthopaedic surgery; Paediatric anaesthesia; Plastic, reconstructive and burns surgery; Thoracic surgery; Vascular surgery and interventional radiology.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to these specialities.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
Orthopaedic surgery
Recommended resources are listed below.
Recommended texts
Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, 9e by
Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Comprehensively covers the entire field of anesthesiology with a practical, clinical focus throughout. Features extensive multimedia content, including more than 300 updated procedural videos and 190 narrated interactive clinical vignettes. Includes Key Points in every chapter, with corresponding numbers in the chapter margins for quick reference. Highlights key references to quickly direct you to the most important and high-yield further reading. Contains useful appendices with formulas, pacemaker and implantable cardiac defibrillator protocols, information on herbal medications, an atlas of echocardiography, and more.
Clinical Anesthesia, 8e by
Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features: Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology, new coverage of autonomic pharmacology, a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section, updated coverage of occupational hazards, and many other important additions.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 5e by
Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter.
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia, 7e by
The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
