Our dedicated anaesthesia training resources guide provides resource support for all parts of the anaesthesia training program and curriculum, as well as an extensive list of assessment and exam resources.
Our dedicated CPD program resources guide provides resource support for all parts of the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, covering every activity in the CPD curriculum.
Latest books
A round up of recently added pain-related titles.
Pain, Drugs, and Ethics
by
This book delves into the challenge to balancing the safe, compassionate, and effective treatment of chronic pain against serious negative outcomes associated with the increased abuse and misuse of these medications, and offers the context of professionalism and ethics taught to most healthcare professionals today, and describes how these principles can help to maximize safety, efficacy, and compassionate pain care, regardless of the direction the “opioid pendulum” is swinging. A framework is provided for clinicians to rely on best practices in managing acute, subacute, and chronic pain. The goal is to help clinicians provide patients with pain the most reliable, contextual, and ethical pain care possible.
Perioperative Pain Management: A Clinical Guide
by
Perioperative Pain Management: A Clinical Guide provides a unique and comprehensive approach to pain management, offering effective treatment strategies tailored to various specialties. This collaborative effort includes insights from experts in anesthesiology, pain management, physical medicine, addiction medicine, pharmacy, and surgery, ensuring diverse and inclusive content for all healthcare professionals involved in perioperative pain management. The book addresses special patient populations, highlighting specific challenges and strategies to meet their analgesic needs. Clinical providers seeking a blueprint for creating optimal perioperative pain management pathways will find this guide invaluable for planning and optimizing their clinical resources.
Latest articles of interest
Latest books
A round up of recently added anaesthesia and critical care titles.
Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians
by
For anyone who communicates directly with patients--the complete guide to handling emotionally charged conversations with the empathy vulnerable people deserve Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians helps you approach tough conversations with patients in a new, more effective way―by imagining what patients and their families may be thinking and feeling, and then communicating that recognition clearly and confidently. The authors use stories to illustrate what empathy looks and sounds like on an operational level―rather than a theoretical, scientific, or conceptual level―and provide the actionable advice you need to make empathy the central focus when faced with challenging scenarios, such as "denial," questions about prognosis, existential concerns, difficult family dynamics, anger, and nonmedical opiate use. The viewpoints presented are drawn from a diverse group of clinicians from a variety of medical disciplines, including oncology, palliative medicine, pediatrics, psychology, chaplaincy, and ophthalmology. Each chapter is anchored by a true but anonymized story that clearly illustrates how empathy can unfold in the clinical setting. Vignettes throughout provide sample dialogue and examples of actual words and phrases that help clinicians connect with patients under the most trying circumstances. Much more than a guide to breaking bad news or an overview of all communication skills, Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians is a must-read for anyone connected to the healthcare industry.
Critical Care Medicine: an Algorithmic Approach
by
Make confident, evidence-based decisions in everyday critical care practice with Critical Care Medicine: An Algorithmic Approach. This first-of-its-kind decision making tool provides concise, practical guidance on key aspects of critical care in the form of easy-to-follow diagnostic and treatment algorithms, diagrams, and tables. The unique format saves you time as it guides you through best practices and reliable data to improve patient outcomes in the ICU. Chapters cover a particular organ system and are organized by disorder for easy reference. Each chapter includes a brief overview of the disorder, diagnostic algorithms, treatment algorithms, potential complications and strategies for overcoming them, and supporting references. Helpful mnemonics and advice from critical care experts are provided throughout. Key topics include ventilatory failure: ARDS, pulmonary embolism, asthma and COPD; ABG analysis; pleural effusion; acute respiratory failure; cardiac critical care; acute kidney injury, water and electrolyte management, acid-base disorders; infectious disease; COVID-19; critical care issues related to other medical specialties; and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors
by
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivor fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter; Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach; Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process.
Textbook of Neurointensive Care: Volume 1 - Neuroanatomy, Diagnostic Assessment, Disease Management
by
This extensively updated edition provides a comprehensive review of intensive care for neurologically injured patients from the emergency room and ICU through the operating room and post-surgical period in two comprehensive volumes. The Editors of this first volume present a comprehensive textbook that incorporates best practice/evidence-based medicine and performance improvement, while it champions the three characteristics needed in our neuro-ICUs: patient and family centered high-quality care, education, and discovery. This volume concentrates on neuroanatomy, diagnostic assessment and disease management, examining the neurological problems most frequently seen in intensive care, and describes the various types of neurosurgery and critical features of the management of patients. General issues are discussed across the textbook, such as cardiac care, fluids and electrolytes, nutrition, and monitoring as well as more specific conditions and complications including elevated intracranial pressure, seizures, and altered mental states. Listening to an injured brain is not easy. It takes knowledge, dedication, and understanding of the critically ill patient and their family. Textbook of Neurointensive Care Volume 1: Neuroanatomy, Diagnostic Assessment, Disease Management provides the reader with a detailed resource for studying this most complex area of medicine. It is thus essential reading for all trainees and professionals in critical care, neurosurgery, anesthesia and neurology.
Textbook of Neurointensive Care: Volume 2 - Perioperative Management, Monitoring, Pharmacotherapy
by
Challenges in Research Policy: Evidence-Based Policy Briefs with Recommendations
by
This open access volume addresses major challenges in research policy and provides advice on how to approach them. With chapters designed as accessible policy briefs, the book serves as an essential resource for new actors in research policy. It offers evidence-based recommendations on approaching research governance, funding, and evaluation challenges by covering these topics: Identifying and facilitating high quality research Evaluating transdisciplinary research quality Evaluating societal impact The dilemmas of grant peer review How citations relate to research quality Reforming research assessment The use of metrics in academic recruitment Quality criteria and concentration of research funding Balancing basic and external research funding Designing performance-based research funding systems Strategic steering of research at universities The consequences of paying to publish Each chapter combines research with practical advice and provides an overview of the state-of-the-art in research on the specific topic, as well as references for further reading.
Recent articles of interest
Recent articles
NZ fellows, Drs Heidi Omundsen and Renee Franklin were co-authors on a recent paper on perioperative decision making. Prof Jenny Weller, has recently published an article on failed intubations.
Recent books
A recently released book on "Nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists" has a chapter on Nurse Practitioners in New Zealand
The Evolution and Future of Nurse Practitioners in New Zealand
by
Ongoing advocacy and action over the past two decades have resulted in a broad and permissive scope of NP practice in New Zealand. As numbers of NPs rise, the potential of the NP role is being realized in national workforce policy, acknowledging the contribution NPs make to healthcare delivery, particularly in the face of burgeoning long-term conditions, health inequities and shortages of medical doctors. NPs provide a sustainable health workforce able to deliver meaningful, culturally safe and holistic care. This chapter describes the evolution of NPs in New Zealand, arguing that NPs are a critical resource for transforming the way primary healthcare is delivered.
NZ print collection
Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.
New DSM Library collection
The college has just commenced a subscription to the DSM Library collection, which provides online access to a suite of DSM-5-related titles including: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases and DSM-5-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis.
Latest books
Pain-related titles recently added to the collection include new books on cancer pain and regenerative medicine in interventional pain management.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR
by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases
by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases clarifies and discusses psychiatric diagnosis with a particular focus on how diagnoses have evolved from DSM-5. Designed for teachers, students, and clinicians, this book presents a broad range of patient vignettes that cover the diagnostic waterfront.
A number of highlighted podcasts have been added to the Podcasts and Online lectures section of the Pain Medicine Training guide.
Latest articles of interest
Updates to PEx recommended reading list
The new (10th) edition of Miller's Anesthesia is now available. Other new titles include Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook and a new edition of Anesthesiology Core Review.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e
by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook
by
A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine. Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. This new abridged resource serves as a high-yield review of the core content of the larger text, with bolded key concepts for ease of reference, Q&A, and more. * Convenient, abridged version--less than half the length of origin text * Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A.
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, 2e
by
The essential, high-yield review for Part One of the ABA BASIC Exam--updated to align with the latest exam blueprint Anesthesiology residents must pass the BASIC exam in order to continue their training. This essential resource is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. This updated second edition reflects the latest literature and incorporates new topics such as COVID-19. Concise review of all essential anesthesia concepts Great for keyword review and to generate power points for presentations Content correlates with the two-part ABA content outline for board certification Revised simultaneously with the Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam Aligns with the updated American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) BASIC Exam blueprint and incorporates new content with American Society of Anesthesiology guidelines
Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery
by
Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery A comprehensive reference to anesthesia for dental, oral, and maxillofacial surgery Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery offers a comprehensive yet practical approach to anesthesiology for dentist anesthesiologists, oral and maxillofacial surgeons, and anesthesia providers in a dental environment. Taking a concise bulleted approach for fast access to information, the book covers all topics relevant to providing perioperative anesthetic management for the head and neck region. Coverage ranges from equipment, anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology to anesthetizing patients with specific conditions and for specific procedures. Designed for ease of use, the book makes it easy to find information relevant to cases ranging from common to rare. Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery readers will also find: Images throughout to facilitate key points A bulleted approach for easy reference A practical, accessible style, making it easy to find information at point of care Detailed coverage of preoperative aspects, pharmacology, key equipment, and more Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery provides anesthesia providers with all the information they need to confidently manage any case.
Textbook of Laparoscopy for Surgeons and Gynecologists, 4e
by
This textbook is a complete guide to laparoscopic surgery for practising and trainee general and laparoscopic surgeons. The fourth edition has been fully revised and features many new topics, providing the latest advances in the field. Divided into six sections, the book begins with discussion on the fundamentals of laparoscopic surgery - imaging systems, instruments, sterilisation, anaesthesia, and basic techniques.
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 11e
by
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with colour highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care. Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including: Robotic surgery Laparoscopic surgery Endovascular procedures
Spotlight on doctor wellbeing
Get ready for ANZCA Wellbeing Week next month with the latest resources from ANZCA Library. Below you'll find some of our top picks for doctor health and wellbeing, as well as some other great new items. For more wellbeing resources, please visit our dedicated library resource guide below:
Workplace Wellness: From Resiliency to Suicide Prevention and Grief Management; A Practical Guide to Supporting Healthcare Professionals
by
This book uniquely provides actionable strategies along the wellness continuum in multiple dimensions: personal, institutional and professional; while applicable across disciplines: nursing and allied health, advanced practice providers and physicians. Further, the content is presented in a manner that can be taught to those entering the workforce, or serve as a primer for Wellness Officers. Most mental health texts focus on the needs of patients and ignore the mental health needs of clinicians. This book fills that gap embracing wellness initiatives as a matter of mental health. Wellness strategies for Inclusion Diversity and Equity are presented. The often ignored subject of suicide is approached head-on with evidence-based strategies for prevention. At the far end of the continuum of wellness, grief management after losing a colleague to death and/or suicide will be addressed. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a brief presentation of the science, application of principles into wellness practice, opportunities for future research and discussion questions.
The Washington Manual of Critical Care, 4e
by
The Washington Manual® of Critical Care provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in the field. The fourth edition focuses on the essential information you need to know, using a brief, bulleted format, along with numerous figures, tables, algorithms, and images throughout. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of bedside diagnosis and management of the most frequently encountered illnesses and problems seen in the ICU--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference.
Recent articles of interest
New DSM Library collection
The college has just commenced a subscription to the DSM Library collection, which provides online access to a suite of DSM-5-related titles including: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases and DSM-5-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis.
Latest books
Pain-related titles recently added to the collection include new books on cancer pain and regenerative medicine in interventional pain management.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR
by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
The Pain of Cancer
by
'The Pain of Cancer' should be an essential read for all doctors and nurses in frontline medicine who will day to day be faced with patients having complex pain problems related to cancer. Armed with the concepts and theory of pain management, embellished by real life practical examples contained within this book they will have increased confidence to provide effective pain management. Most importantly patients facing the despair of pain associated with cancer will have access to effective pain control.
Essentials of Regenerative Medicine in Interventional Pain Management, 2e
by
Regenerative medicine is an emerging and integral part of interventional pain management and meets definitions of interventional pain management and interventional techniques. Interventional techniques are defined as minimally invasive procedures including, percutaneous precision needle placement, with placement of drugs in targeted areas or ablation of targeted nerves; and some surgical techniques such as laser or endoscopic diskectomy, intrathecal infusion pumps, and spinal cord stimulators, for the diagnosis and management of chronic, persistent, or intractable pain. On the same token, interventional pain management is defined as the discipline of medicine devoted to the diagnosis and treatment of pain related disorders principally with the application of interventional techniques in managing subacute, chronic, persistent, and intractable pain, independently or in conjunction with other modalities of treatment. This new edition brings a wide array of information for interventional pain physicians and other physicians practicing regenerative medicine with its applications in managing chronic pain and other disorders.
Recent articles of interest
A number of new pain-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.
Latest books
A new edition of Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia plus books on coaching and wellbeing.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e
by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e
by
An ideal clinical reference and learning tool for anaesthesiologists, nurse anaesthetists, and pain management specialists, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e, helps you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise in all areas of this fast-changing field.
Coaching Skills: The Definitive Guide to Being a Coach, 5e
by
Relevant to lifestyle and executive coaching, human resources and careers, training and management, 'Coaching Skills' offers practical advice backed up by case studies and examples. This updated edition contains more extensive treatment of barriers to change in clients, new coverage of goal-setting, and more on assessing a client's needs.
Total Reset: Realigning with our Timeless Holistic Blueprint for Living
by
In 1991, curious about the ways of humanity’s oldest continuous culture, Greg Campbell exited corporate life to live in the remote Kimberley region of Australia with a traditional Aboriginal elder and powerful maban (shaman), Lulu, and his people. Concerned about the state of the world and threats to the continuity of all life, Lulu asked Greg to work with him and the Aboriginal people on one book, a journey of 31 years.
Recent articles of interest
A number of new articles by our FANZCAs have recently been added to the library guides, including an informative correspondence and a feature on nitrous oxide leaks.
Library staff at the Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM 2024
As in previous years, ANZCA library staff will be attending the ANZCA booth at the November meeting in Auckland. This is an excellent opportunity to learn more about the resources we provide to support trainees, fellows and CPD Participants. So, if you'd like to learn more about the revised and expanded CPD resources guide, the upgraded PEx list, set up the Read by QxMD app or learn more about LibKey, then this is your chance.
Latest articles
A round up of recent articles with an Aotearoa New Zealand focus:
NZ print collection
Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.
Updates to PEx recommended reading list
We're delighted to report that after many years of trying that West's Respiratory Physiology is finally available online for the very first time!
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e
by
Latest titles
New editions of Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s and Katzung's are now available.
Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s: A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 7e
by
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia and sedation strategies for young patients. This text reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of paediatric anesthesia.
Katzung's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, 14e
by
Katzung’s Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology.
This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts.
Recent articles of interest
A number of new education-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.
Expanded resourcing for CPD Program participants
ANZCA library - in conjunction with the ANZCA & FPM CPD Program - have launched a REVISED & EXPANDED guide for ANZCA & FPM CPD Program Resources. The expanded guide now covers every activity in the current CPD curriculum and provides information, suggestions and resource support for the entire CPD program. This joins the recently launched CPD for Clinical Support Roles guide for CPD participants working in clinical support roles and/or without direct patient care.
Latest articles
Recent articles by ANZCA fellows plus a new article on developing "green" operating rooms.
Green Physician Toolkit
by
he Green physician toolkit suggests a range of actions that physicians can take in their day-to-day practice to help mitigate and adapt to the impacts of climate change. The toolkit also brings together the evidence showing the impact of climate change on health, with the goal of educating as many physicians as possible on this issue. Case studies from across the NHS are showcased to exemplify how physicians can adopt these actions into their day-to-day practice.
Latest books
The latest edition of Care of Adults with Chronic Childhood Conditions is now available.
Care of Adults with Chronic Childhood Conditions: A Practical Guide, 2e
by
This book addresses the unique healthcare needs of adults with chronic childhood illnesses. It presents a model of primary and secondary prevention for emerging adulthood: primary prevention, in which all young adults are screened for high-risk behaviours and health needs, and secondary prevention, in which young adults with chronic childhood conditions are optimized through coordinated care, connections to community resources and social/family support. Now in its revised and expanded second edition, this book is organized in seven parts.
Pain medicine training guide/ETA essentials
Looking for pain medicine training resources or ETA readings? Then check out the Pain Medicine Training Resources guide!
Latest books
Pain-related titles recently added to the collection include new books on CRPS and managing chronic pain.
The Evolution of Complex Regional Pain Syndrome: From Schloss Rettershof to a New Clinical Language
by
Long before any written accounts of what has come to be described as Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), this book entails a record that began in the department of Anesthesiology headed by Dr. John Bonica who during the Pacific arena of World War II came to manage thousands of wounded servicemen many of whom suffered from this complicated clinical entity often long after their original wounds had healed. Divided into two sections, the first provides a detailed chronology of the research and establishment of diagnostic criteria for CRPS. The second section provides an overview of how CRPS is evaluated and treated, along with the research that serves as its foundations.
Essentials of Interventional Techniques in Managing Chronic Pain
by
This comprehensive review covers the full and latest array of interventional techniques for managing chronic pain. Chapters are grouped by specific treatment modalities that include spinal interventional techniques, nonspinal and peripheral nerve blocks, sympathetic interventional techniques, soft tissue and joint injections, and implantables.
Special Issue
Neuromodulation recently released a special edition, Neuromodulation for Pain and Headache Disorders.
Recent articles of interest
A number of new pain-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.
Latest titles
Several new titles have been added to the collection, including the Handbook of Cardiac Critical Care and Anaesthesia, a new edition of Goldman-Cecil Medicine, and Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2025.
Handbook of Cardiac Critical Care and Anaesthesia
by
This book provides clinical tips on the management of common emergencies that are regularly faced by critical care and acute care cardiologists in resource-limited settings. Based on the current guidelines, it explores the evaluation of the patient, followed by its treatment methodology. It highlights the beneficial effects of the use of cardiac drugs during an emergency. There is also a special section on preoperative evaluation and postoperative management of cardiac patients of different subsets. Medicolegal/documentation points are also discussed where relevant. It is useful as a ready reference for physicians, anaesthetists and cardiologists. Key Features * Reinforces certain teachings and recalls certain overlooked clinical points to address emergency situations in a busy, resource limited setting * Explains lucidly what the acute cardiac care/anaesthesia registrar or cardiology fellows ought to do in the intensive care and postoperative wards * Emphasizes the importance of clinical acumen and observation
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 27e
by
For more than 90 years, what is now called Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the authoritative source for internal medicine and the care of adult patients. Every chapter is written by acclaimed experts who, with the oversight of our editors, provide definitive, unbiased advice on the diagnosis and treatment of thousands of common and uncommon conditions, always guided by an understanding of the epidemiology and pathobiology, as well as the latest medical literature.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2026
by
A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions across sections focusing on diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates on diagnosis, treatment, and management, reflecting the latest approaches in clinical practice Features 28 all-new topics including protein-losing enteropathy, fistula-in-ano, neck abscess, chronic meningitis, pregnancy-associated sleep disorders, chronic pelvic pain in women, adult-onset autoinflammatory disease, bone metastases, periprosthetic joint infection, liver metastasis, chronic and recurrent pneumonias, sudden cardiac death, firearm injury, and abnormal uterine bleeding in adolescents, among others Includes useful appendices covering palliative care, preoperative evaluation, nutrition, poison management, commonly used herbal products in integrated medicine, and much more Offers online access to newly revised and updated Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Latest articles
Recent articles by ANZCA fellows, including Prof David A Scott, Assoc Prof Stuart Marshall, ;and Assoc Prof Benjamin Cheung.
Latest articles
A round up of recent articles with an Aotearoa New Zealand focus:
Podcast spotlight
New Zealand Anaesthesia podcast can be claimed as time under the ANZCA knowledge and skills, learning sessions activity. After listening simply use a screenshot as evidence when adding this activity to your dashboard.
NZ print collection
Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.
Updates to PEx recommended reading list
The college's primary exam team are reviewing the content of the PEx recommended reading list, with the following changes having recently been made:
Latest titles
Gray's anatomy for students has been added to the recommended reading list. In addition, several new exam prep titles have been added.
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e
by
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e, is your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals.
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam, 2e
by
The most thorough and insightful guide to acing the make-or-break ABA ADVANCED Exam Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is an all-in-one test-prep resource for mastering nearly 200 must-know topics, identifying your areas of strength and weakness, and waking up on test day with the utmost confidence. Written by program directors with years of board examination advising experience, the book is designed in a way that facilitates quick, solid learning. It is divided into sections that match the American Board of Anesthesiology ADVANCED exam blueprint: Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Organ-based Basic & Clinical Sciences Clinical Subspecialties Special Issues in Anesthesiology With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is one of the most important steps you can take to ensure effective preparation for the new ABA ADVANCED Examination.
Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review, 2e
by
Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review, 2e succinctly covers all key physiology principles and includes clinical correlations to clarify the connection between physiology and clinical medicine. The book includes two comprehensive 100-question examinations, followed by the correct answer and rationales. Learning aids included bolded key terms, skill-builder questions that prompt readers to review previous material, and end-of-chapter checklists. New to 2e, each primary chapter is now accompanied by a full-colour “visual abstract” intended to be a “one stop shop” that summarizes the chapter’s key content in a readily digestible way.
Physics for the Anaesthetic Viva
by
Physics for the Anaesthetic Viva is a succinct and practical text that comprehensively covers all aspects of the physics and clinical measurement curriculum for the FRCA examinations. Each section begins by explaining the basic science concepts, which are then expanded and related to everyday practice. Illustrations are used to enhance understanding of the concepts, and are presented in such a way as to be easy to reproduce in the exam setting. In addition, sample viva questions are provided at the end of each chapter to test learning, or for use in a mock viva session. Written by trainees for trainees, this book provides exactly what you need to pass the exam.
Latest articles
One recent article, co-written by two FANZCAs, discusses the factors considered critical in securing an anaesthetic training position.
Latest titles
Several new titles have been added to the collection, including the Cambridge Handbook of Anesthesiology and Devices in Cardiac Critical Care.
Devices in Cardiac Critical Care
by
Everything you need to know about the latest cardiac devices and how to use them to diagnose and treat patients safely and effectively.
In a critical care setting, time is often of the essence and there is no room for confusion about different cardiac devices―which are evolving at a rapid-pace. Understanding how to choose and use each of these devices correctly is crucial. Devices in Cardiac Critical Care addresses this important issue by providing thorough coverage of all the devices you are likely to encounter. Written in an engaging, conversational style, this accessible book will assist you in making effective clinical judgements.
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4e
by
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4e, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets’ popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style – making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Cambridge Handbook of Anesthesiology
by
The recent advances in the clinical practice of anesthesiology have increased the need for a new state-of-the art anesthesia handbook for practicing anesthesiologists, trainees and students. This practical book provides a modern, clinically focused guide for any clinical question related to anesthesia care, presenting comprehensive, yet succinct knowledge from experts in the field. It describes the best practice in a concise yet easily digestible format and features numerous tables and figures, a bulleted points/outline format, and algorithms allowing for rapid assimilation of key information. New techniques and common procedures are also covered in detail. This up-to-date pocketbook is perfect for quick reference in the operating room, providing rapid access to evidence-based clinical content covering the full breadth of the field, including pediatric, obstetric, cardiac and regional anesthesia sections. In addition to daily clinical practice, the book serves also as a convenient companion for board review and recertification exam preparation.
Latest articles
Recent articles by ANZCA fellows, including Prof. Paul Myles and Prof. Laurence Weinberg.
Latest books
The latest edition of Waldman's Principles of Critical Care is now available, plus a new text on pain procedures.
Hall, Schmidt and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, 5e
by
Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic.
The Pain Procedure Handbook: A Milestones Approach
by
This book fills the need for a succinct reference on how to master the progressive steps necessary to complete a wide range of complex pain procedures. Organized by anatomic regions and target tissues, the book takes a structured approach to obtaining mastery of the steps required to perform a given procedure rather than providing more in depth or exhaustive reviews of theory and literature. The book covers various nerve blocks and injections for treating chronic pain; how to correctly and safely perform the injection; feature x- ray or ultrasound pictures to help; and offer safety tips, and other pertinent information. Chapters begin with a brief summary, then define the specific skills necessary to perform a given procedure and deconstruct the procedure back into the individual skills expected by novice, intermediate, and advanced practitioners. Practical and concise, The Pain Procedure Handbook is aimed for medical students, residents, fellows, and physicians interested in chronic pain medicine, anesthesiology, acute pain medicine, interventional radiology, and physical medicine and rehabilitation.
Latest articles
A focus on recent pain-related articles, including one by two FPM fellows:
Latest books
The latest edition of Waldman's Physical Diagnosis of Pain is now available. There is also a new book examining the pioneering work of John Loeser.
Physical Diagnosis of Pain: An Atlas of Signs and Symptoms, 5e
by
In this easy-to-follow, how-to-do-it atlas, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides a compendium of practical physical examination techniques that you can use in your daily practice to evaluate and diagnose patients in pain. Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5e, is the only atlas devoted to this critical area of pain medicine, offering a real-world focus on how clinicians evaluate pain: "What is it?" rather than "Where is it?". You’ll be guided step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone.
John Loeser: The Man Who Reimagined Pain
by
This uniquely written title presents both the fascinating biography of Dr. John Loeser, a visionary pioneer in the field of pain medicine, as well as the compelling account of the birth and evolution of pain medicine in the United States and beyond. In this captivating work, readers are taken down the path of an extraordinary man who not only shaped the discipline of pain medicine but also embraced a multitude of passions, leaving an indelible mark on those lucky enough to know him.
Due to a significant and unsustainable price increase, the ANZCA Library will discontinue its online subscription to the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA) from 1 January 2022.
See the complete college news item for more information.
With this change, college members will continue to receive the following free online access to the BJA:
This content will be available through the library’s discovery service, journals list, apps and other linking tools and platforms. It will also be possible to request any newer articles not online through the library free-of-cost.
Any current college fellow, trainee, or SIMG, can also take out a personal subscription to the BJA at a heavily discounted rate.
See the college BJA personal subscriptions page for more information
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
