Looking for resources related to the Coronavirus/COVID-19 outbreak? 
Visit the Coronavirus/COVID-19 guide.
Guide index
CICM > CICM Library > Library guides
Other ANZCA guides
Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care, 6e [CICM] by
Long recognized as the leading text in this dynamic field, Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care provides comprehensive, clear explanations of both the principles underlying paediatric critical care disease and trauma as well as how these principles are applied. The fully revised Sixth Edition brings you completely up to date on today's understanding, treatments, technologies, and outcomes regarding critical illness in children. Contains 120 up-to-date chapters covering everything from hematologic/oncologic disorders to mass casualty incidents to PICU organization and physical design. Keeps you current with the latest evidence and practices, including recent advances in electronic monitoring, education, and pandemic management. Includes Key Points at the beginning of each chapter along with associated numbered margin icons throughout correlating pertinent sections so you can find what you need, quickly margin icons so you can find what you need quickly.
Marino's The ICU Book, 5e [CICM] by
Dr. Paul L. Marino's concise, engaging writing style is just one of many reasons that Marino's The ICU Book is the best-selling reference in critical care. This highly regarded, full-colour resource contains the essential information needed to care for patients in any ICU, regardless of the specialty designation of the unit. The newly revised Fifth Edition continues the focus on practical aspects of patient care and will appeal to anyone with an interest in the care of critically ill patients. The intended audience incudes medical students, interns and residents in medicine, surgery, and anaesthesiology, critical care physicians and nurses, physician's assistants, respiratory therapists, and paramedics.
Handbook of Communication in Anaesthesia, Pain Management, and Intensive Care: A Practical Guide to Exploring the Art, 2e [CICM] by
Communication in anaesthesia, pain management, and intensive care can have profound impacts on patients and healthcare colleagues. Good communication can result in better patient outcomes and experiences of the hospital setting, whereas poor communication is frequently at the heart of adverse incidents, complaints, and litigation. This handbook outlines two model frameworks to improve communication: one to give structure to an interaction and one that explores language structures and the layers of meaning to our words. The frameworks are essential tools for communicating with children, obstetric patients, and those with needle phobia. A practical guide, the book is packed with useful tips to enhance interactions with both patients and colleagues. Numerous examples and vignettes clearly demonstrate ideas that will improve patient care, safety, and bring out the best in everyone around. Fully updated with new clinical guidelines and literature, the second edition includes new chapters on how to talk to patients in pain, featuring motivational interviewing techniques, and on social media. Increased coverage of managing challenging situations, includes communicating with distressed relatives, dealing with complaints, and working with interpreters.
Passing the Final FFICM: High-Yield Facts for the MCQ & OSCE Exams [CICM] by
This innovative resource serves as a fusion of an MCQ guide and a textbook, providing essential content for postgraduate trainees gearing up for the FFICM Final exam, a vital part of the CCT in Intensive Care Medicine. Crafted to meet the unique requirements of the MCQ while also addressing the necessity for concise, well-structured responses in the OSCE, this book prioritises quick topic transitions, delivering focused, streamlined learning across a range of ICM topics. Its uniqueness lies in its unorthodox structure; rather than having a conventional table of contents, it gives you the freedom to start your learning adventure from any page. Each of the 1,400 facts is structured as a question, reflecting the format of both exams. Answers are conveniently positioned just below, eliminating the need for constant page-flipping. The material is carefully curated to cover the breadth of the ICM curriculum, weaving in valuable insights from the author's and colleagues' exam experiences. Random questions replicate the unpredictability of both exams and enhance the reader's capacity to swiftly switch between topics during self-assessment. This balances knowledge application and active recall while using memory-enhancing methods like self-quizzing, chunking, and spaced repetition.
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support CICM user access to the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
Library feedback form