Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANZCA & FPM CPD program: Knowledge & skills

This page contains resources related to supporting Continuing Professional Development (CPD) activities.

Staying current: Library and CPD webinar (24 June 2020)

The Library, in conjunction with CPD hosted a webinar originally planned for the 2020 ASM: Staying Current: ANZCA Library resources for CPD.

This webinar looks at everything you’d like to know about CPD and the wide range of library resources available to fellows via the ANZCA Library. Special attention will also be given to online resources in consideration of COVID-19.

A recording of the webinar held on the Thursday 25 June 2020, is now available via Networks. The recording runs for 67 minutes and credit can be claimed for CPD purposes.

Journals reading

​More information available here [college website]

Evaluation of Open Access Websites for Anesthesia Education

Transgender and Gender Nonconforming (TGNC) Essentials (online course)

The Transgender and Gender Nonconforming Essentials free online course provides medical professionals the opportunity to identify knowledge deficits and learn how to provide culturally appropriate care to their transgender and gender nonconforming (TGNC) patients in their practice.

This foundational module covers essential terminology, myths and misconceptions about TGNC people, gender neutral language, and best practices for medical sites to create an affirming environment of care for TGNC patients. In addition, it provides opportunities for practical skill development, including practicing using gender appropriate pronouns, reflecting on cultural assumptions, and planning strategies to incorporate into work processes and procedures.

This online course covers USA specific information.

Access the course here.

All Pregnant People: Trans Birth for Birthworkers (online course)

Collaborating ConsultingThis online course provides essential module to prepare birthworkers of all types to offer meaningful, effective support to your trans, non-binary, and gender nonconforming patients.

Learning sessions - “Spinal Anaesthesia”

This eLearning teaching and training resource provides practical and theoretical information on performing and managing spinal anaesthesia for anaesthesia providers. It is intended to be a supplement to face to face teaching and must not be considered a substitute for high quality clinical instruction. The course is best viewed on a laptop or desktop computer rather than a phone and will take approximately 3-4 hours to complete.

ldquo;Spinal Anaesthesia” – an eLearning course for anaesthesia providers

Note: Click on the link above to access the online course. You will need to click at the bottom “Sign up for free”.

Publication of a manuscript in a peer-reviewed journal or book chapter

​More information available here

Short course, workshops, problem-based learning discussions and small group discussion

More information available here [college website]

Presenting at regional/national/ international conferences/meetings

More information available here [college website]

Teaching including preparing and delivery of education session

​More information available here [college website]

Grant proposals and trails

​​More information available here [college website]

Wellbeing CPD education sessions

                            More information available here [college website]

RANZCOG Endometriosis eLearning Module

Many women with endometriosis require the attention of multidisciplinary teams, and especially for those with chronic pelvic pain, the expertise of a Pain Specialist.

The RANZCOG Endometriosis eLearning Module provides comprehensive coverage of endometriosis symptoms, management, and the whole-person patient care pathway. With an estimated 700,000 or more Australians with endometriosis, and delay from onset to diagnosis of 7 to 12 years, this free resource aims to improve time to diagnosis and effective management for better patient outcomes for all Pain Specialists with an interest in women’s health.

RANZCOG Endometriosis eLearning Module

Global development work

​More information available here

Audio-Digest (Audio lectures)

AudioDigest LogoKeep up-to-date on the latest anaesthesia and pain medicine research and practice, in your car, office, home, gym or while travelling.

Audio-Digest provides instant online and mobile access to 371 accredited audio lectures and board reviews presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience.
  • Each lecture includes:
    • Objectives and accreditation information
    • Pre-test questions (and answers)
    • Written summary and readings
    • Post-test questions (and answers)
    • Evaluation form
  • Automatically synchronises your progress across your computer and your smart device
  • A mobile app is available for Apple iOS and Android

See our dedicated Audio-Digest guide for further information including full access details.

Other Resources

AnaesthesiaUK is an educational site with training resources for anaesthetic professionals.

                            Anaesthesia Tutorial of the Week (ATOTW)

An online educational resource from the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA) which aims to support anaesthesia training throughout the world, particularly in areas where access to journals and learning materials is limited.

As a result of his personal experience, Martin Bromiley founded the Clinical Human Factors Group in 2007. This group brings together experts, clinicians and enthusiasts who have an interest in placing the understanding of human factors at the heart of improving patient safety.

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.