Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Examining

Guide index

Examining, including writing and marking questions

Participation as an examiner in written examinations and preparing questions for college trainees or medical students.

Participation in the ANZCA primary (PEx) or final (FEx) written examination process (inc question writing and/or marking)
Participation in the FPM fellowship examination, external long case assessment and written examiner process
Participation in a medical student written examination process - such as a Bachelor of Medicine exam question writing and/or marking
Participation in a RGA (Rural Generalist Anaesthesia) examiner process (inc question writing and/or marking)
Participation in a SIMG (Specialist International Medical Graduate) examiner process
Participation in an ESAIC or ESRA examiner process (inc question writing and/or marking)
Participation in a specialist mock or trial examiner process (inc question writing and/or marking)
Participation in a pre-exam calibration examiner process
Involvement in the marking of medical exams

See also: Examiner for the ANZCA anaesthesia primary and final and FPM fellowship exams for viva/OSCE exam participation
See also: I examine of the CPD for clinical support roles guide

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills examining activity.

External resources

Australian Medical Council (AMC) Limited: AMC Assessment Website
Designed for all stakeholders involved in assessment of learners across the continuum of medical education, this website houses resources and information to share learning and support improvement in assessment
Harvard: Project Implicit - Harvard implicit association tests
The mission of Project Implicit is to educate the public about bias and to provide a “virtual laboratory” for collecting data on the internet.

ANZCA & FPM resources

CPD Activity Guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.

ANZCA: Medical Education Library Guide
This guide has been designed for medical personnel and educators interested in medical education to locate relevant resources on this topic, including those available through the ANZCA library.
ANZCA: Anaesthesia Training Program Resource Guide
The guide provides comprehensive resource support for all parts of the anaesthesia training program and curriculum, as well as an extensive list of PEx and FEx assessment and exam resources.
ANZCA Primary Exam (PEx) Recommended Reading List
Essential This guide includes all the resources which are part of the recommended reading list for the recommended reading list or the ANZCA Primary exam, and includes annotations from the primary exam team.
ANZCA: Exam Preparation Library Guide
This guide includes a large number of titles which can be used to prepare for your exams.
ANZCA: Pain Medicine Training Resources Guide
This guide has been designed for practitioners undertaking pain medicine training program, to assist in locating relevant resources on pain medicine.
ANZCA: CPD for Clinical Support Roles Library Guide
The purpose of this resources guide is to assist fellows to match CPD activities with the nature of the work roles that they undertake. The target audience is those with clinical support roles alongside their work with patients and those who practice without direct patient care.
ANZCA: Roles in Practice - Communicator Library Guide
This guide contains informative, accessible and diverse training resources, including those available through the ANZCA library, to support communication activities that help establish rapport, trust, and ethical therapeutic relationships with patients and their families.

ANZCA: Becoming a Primary Examiner
Being an ANZCA primary examiner is an extremely rewarding way for you to make a substantial contribution to your profession; your college; and to maintaining the high standards that make anaesthesia so safe in Australia and New Zealand.
ANZCA: Primary Examination Sub-committee (PESC)
The Primary Examination Sub-committee reports to the Education Executive Management Committee (EEMC) and is responsible for overseeing, coordinating and conducting the primary examinations.
ANZCA: Final Examination Sub-committee (FESC)
The Final Examination Sub-committee reports to the Education Executive Management Committee (EEMC), and is responsible for overseeing, co-ordinating and conducting the final examinations.

Unconscious Bias Toolkit by Dr Louisa Lowes FANZCA and Dr Adele MacMillan FANZCA. Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists & Faculty of Pain Medicine The following toolkit, developed by the Gender Equity Sub-Committee, provides an introduction to unconscious bias. It explains how unconscious bias influences the care our patients receive and the professional endeavours of our members. It also provides strategies and resources to identify and mitigate the effects of unconscious bias.
Publication Date: 2023

Library resources

The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by Lachlan Rathie This book addresses all components of the anaesthetics primary exam with a focus on the vivas. Exam resources, exam technique, diagrams, opening viva questions, practice SAQs, a study template and 500 short format questions and answers that traverse the entire curriculum are contained within this book.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2022-10-26
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by Rathie, Lachlan Recommended This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 17 February 2023