Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Analysing healthcare outcomes (AHO)

Guide index

Analysing healthcare outcomes (AHO)

A group of at least three colleagues analyse and critically reflect on published reports of outcome data and evidence-based care, including discussion of the implications for participants’ practice.

***

May occur face-to-face or virtually.
May be a one-off event or a short series of meetings.
Ongoing groups with a consistent membership and that meet regularly are covered by peer support groups

See the analysing healthcare outcomes guideline for further information concerning this activity, including AHO topic examples

Following the AHO meeting, you may choose to undertake an individual critical reflection activity

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Practice evaluation - measuring performance analysing healthcare outcomes activity.

External reports

ANZCA: Anaesthetic incident reporting: Reporting anaesthesia-related mortality to your department of health
The ANZCA Anaesthetic incident reporting webpage provides links to the websites of the different jurisdictional reporting bodies in Australia and New Zealand and their published reports.

New Zealand: POMRC (Perioperative Mortality Review Committee)
ACT: ACTASM (The Australian Capital Territory Audit of Surgical Mortality)
NT: NTASM (The Northern Territory Audit of Surgical Mortality)
NSW: SCIDUA (The Special Committee Investigating Deaths Under Anaesthesia)
QLD: QPPAMRC (The Queensland Perioperative and Periprocedural Anaesthetic Mortality Review Committee)
SA: SAAMC (The South Australian Anaesthetic Mortality Committee)
VIC: VPCC (The Victorian Perioperative Consultative Council)
TAS: TAAM (The Tasmanian Audit of Anaesthesia Mortality)
WA: WAAMC (The Western Australian Anaesthetic Mortality Committee)

RACS: Surgical mortality audits
The Australian and New Zealand Audit of Surgical Mortality (ANZASM) is an independent, external peer review of surgical mortality in all states and territories of Australia. The purpose of an audit is to review all deaths that occur during an episode of surgical care and to provide opportunities for improvements in patient outcomes.
RCOA: National Audit Projects (NAPS)
The National Audit Projects (NAPs) are internationally recognised as important reports with potentially significant impact on anaesthetic practice and patient outcome. The topics selected for each NAP must be important to patients and anaesthetists, and be incompletely studied in incidence or nature.

External resources

ACHS: Accreditation and Standards
At ACHS, our purpose is to improve and maintain the standard of healthcare in Australia. We do this by accrediting organisations according to government standards, as well as our own established standards. We also provide healthcare consulting services that offer quality improvement guidance to help organisations work towards, and reach, relevant standards.
ACSQHC: Clinical Care Standards
Quality statements that describe the care patients should be offered by health professionals and health services for a specific clinical condition or defined clinical pathway in line with current best evidence.
Centre for Perioperative Care (CPOC): Guidelines & Resources
In this section you'll find guidance developed by CPOC , resources developed by CPOC partner and third party organisations and perioperative case studies that help the perioperative community to share learning, experiences and expertise.
Choosing Wisely Australia. Recommendations: Tests, treatments, and procedures for healthcare providers and consumers to question.
Each recommendation is based on the latest available evidence. Importantly, they are not prescriptive but are intended as guidance to start a conversation about what is appropriate and necessary. As each situation is unique, healthcare providers and consumers should use the recommendations to collaboratively formulate an appropriate healthcare plan together.
Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP)
Includes tools and resources; safety alerts; articles; guidelines.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE): Guidance
Evidence-based recommendations for the health and social care sector, developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders.

Australian & New Zealand Hip Fracture Registry (ANZHFR)
The Australian and New Zealand Hip Fracture Registry (ANZHFR) is a clinical quality registry that collects data about older people admitted to hospital with a broken hip in Australia and New Zealand.
Bariatric Surgery Registry (BSR)
The primary aim of the Bariatric Surgery Registry is to measure outcomes for patients undergoing bariatric surgery across public and private hospitals in Australia and New Zealand. It is predominantly a quality and safety registry.
Monash Clinical Registries
Tracks the scope and output related to thirty seven clinical registries based at the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University. the site includes a number of resources, including reports and handbooks.
RACS: ANZ Emergency Laparotomy Audit – Quality Improvement (ANZELA-QI)
The Australian and New Zealand Emergency Laparotomy Audit – Quality Improvement (ANZELA-QI) has been established for the purpose of providing hospitals with contemporary data to support local initiatives to improve the quality of patient care relating to the management of the acute abdomen.

McLaughlin and Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care, 52 by William A. Sollecito Through a unique interdisciplinary perspective on health care quality and safety, McLaughlin & Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care, 5e covers the subjects of operations management, organizational behaviour, and healthcare service delivery. With a broad focus on both the philosophy and processes of Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI), the challenges of implementation and institutionalization are addressed using examples from a variety of health care organizations, including primary care clinics, public health departments, and academic health centers.Significantly revised and updated throughout, the Fifth Edition offers a greater focus on practical application and incorporates contributions from leading health care quality. Additionally, the text has been reorganized and streamlined into 14 chapters, in lieu of the prior edition's 20 chapters, to make it an even more effective teaching and learning tool.  While being more applied and practical, it does so without sacrificing depth. Extensive citations and detailed examples help students to understand the rationale and the most recent research and practice evidence that underpins the new techniques described. The 5th Edition features:- Streamlined coverage for enhanced teachability.- New chapters on Implementation Science, Lean Six Sigma, and Understanding Variation, Tools and Data Sources for CQI in Health Care- Greater focus on application. For example, the new implementation science chapter includes an appendix describing how to apply implementation science.- Discussion of the Quadruple Aim of health care and impact on CQI; how Public Health has institutionalized CQI to ensure community health quality; how CQI has been more broadly adopted in Low to Middle Income Countries; and much more.
ISBN: 9781284126594
Publication Date: 2018-10-19
National Appraisal of Continuous Quality Improvement Initiatives in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Primary Health Care: Final Report by Wise M, Angus S, Harris E, Parker S In 2011 the Lowitja Institute commissioned the Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity at The University of New South Wales to conduct a national appraisal of Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) initiatives in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander primary health care.
ISBN: 9781921889264
Publication Date: March 2013
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine by Sally Rampersad; Cindy B. Katz [eds] An accessible and richly illustrated guidebook to the most important methodologies and frameworks for improving safety and quality, written specifically for clinicians in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine. The book begins with chapters on design and the use of simulation to set the stage for successful quality improvement (QI) efforts before providing an in-depth look at the individual tools, reporting and use of databases. The following chapters then discuss the use of these tools and theories in practical projects. Finally, the book considers the difficult topic of people, communication and behaviour, importantly addressing the human factors that can make or break QI efforts. The book skilfully blends expert knowledge and valuable examples from years of experience and trials from varied providers to demonstrate the successful paths to improve patient outcomes. For clinicians, nurses and trainees in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine seeking tools and strategies to lead and participate in QI projects.
ISBN: 9781316642306
Publication Date: 2023-05-25
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by Keith J. Ruskin; Marjorie P. Stielger; Stanley H. Rosenbaum [eds] Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that supportreform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures.
ISBN: 9780199366149
Publication Date: 2016

WebAIRS

webAIRS
webAIRS stands for web-based Anaesthetic Incident Reporting System. It's an online reporting tool available to all anaesthetic departments in Australia and New Zealand. The system was developed by the Australian and New Zealand Tripartite Anaesthetic Data Committee (ANZTADC).

Incidents
News
Events
Publications
FAQ

WebAIRS articles
Full-text access to WebAIRS-related articles.

ANZCA: Anaesthetic incident reporting
We oversee a range of incident reporting activities in Australia and New Zealand, including mortality reporting and webAIRS, to ensure that we continue to be two of the safest countries in the world to undergo anaesthesia.

ANZCA & FPM resources

CPD Activity Guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Analysing healthcare outcomes guideline
This guideline assists CPD participants complete the Analysing healthcare outcomes (AHO) activity.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Analysing healthcare outcomes CPD verification form

ANZCA: Professional documents and statements
Our professional documents, statements and guidelines are crucial for promoting the safety and quality of patient care for those undergoing anaesthesia for surgical and other procedures and for those receiving pain medicine treatment.
ANZCA: Safety Alerts
We notify members of important safety, quality, and supply issues affecting the medicines and medical devices they use. This information generally comes via the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) in Australia or MedSafe in New Zealand.
ANZCA Safety and Quality Committee
ANZCA’s Safety and Quality Committee (SQC) works with fellows and ANZCA Council to support safe clinical practice in anaesthesia and pain medicine. SQC actively monitors and evaluates safety and quality information and develops standards and guidelines, including the college’s professional documents.
ANZCA: Safety of Anaesthesia Reports (Online)
Our publications keep members up-to-date and lift the profile of anaesthesia and pain medicine with policy makers and in the wider community. Includes ANZCA Bulletin, the Blue Book, APM: SE, Safety of Anaesthesia Reports, Standards for Anaesthesia and Perioperative Care.
ANZCA: Safety of Anaesthesia Reports (Print)
A full list of the available print Safety of Anaesthesia Reports can be found in the library discovery service.

ANZCA: Safety & Advocacy Hub
This hub brings together resources related to safety, standards of practice - including anaesthetic incident reporting (webAIRS), critical incident debriefing, advocacy, and indigenous and global health, including those resources available through the ANZCA library.
ANZCA: Safety & Quality Resources Library Guide
This guide contains resources and information to complement those on the ANZCA Safety & Advocacy website. It includes a list of relevant college professional documents (policies, position statements, guidelines).

Related journals

ANZCA Bulletin
Online: 2020 - current
Backfile: Vol. 1, 1992 - 6 months ago
Print held: Vol. 1, 1992 - current
more...less...
The quarterly ANZCA Bulletin is the pre-eminent source of information for anaesthetists and pain medicine specialists. With a circulation of about 8000, the Bulletin is sent to fellows and trainees of the college, non-fellow participants in ANZCA's continuing professional development program, the media, health ministers and government departments, overseas sister colleges and all Australian and New Zealand teaching hospitals.
BMJ Quality & Safety
Online: Vol. 1, 1992 - current
>> Alternate/direct access via BMJ Journals.
more...less...
BMJ Quality & Safety provides a rich mix of news, opinion, debate and research for academics, clinicians, healthcare managers and policy makers. It encourages the science of improvement, debate, and new thinking on improving the quality of healthcare. The journal is led by a patient-focused editorial team with a view towards helping all team members improve their knowledge with the overall goal of improving patient care. The journal integrates the academic and clinical aspects of quality and safety in healthcare by encouraging academics to create evidence and knowledge valued by clinicians and clinicians to value using evidence and knowledge to improve quality.
BMJ Open Quality
Online: Vol. 6, 2017 - current
>> Alternate/direct access via BMJ Journals.
more...less...
BMJ Open Quality is dedicated to publishing high quality, peer reviewed healthcare improvement work. Articles covering original research, local, national and international QI projects, value-based healthcare improvement initiatives and educational improvement work are all considered.

BMJ Open Quality uses continuous publication online, to ensure timely, up-to-date knowledge is available worldwide. The journal adheres to a rigorous and transparent peer review process and papers are considered on the basis of methodological soundness rather than priority or novelty.
Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety
Online: Vol. 37, 2011 - current
>> Alternate/direct access via ClinicalKey.
more...less...
Published monthly, The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety is a peer-reviewed publication dedicated to providing health professionals with the information they need to promote the quality and safety of health care.
Clinical Communiqué
Online: Volume 1, 2003 - current
more...less...
A free, quarterly electronic publication of case reports prepared by clinicians describing with a narrative commentary the “lessons learned from Coroner’s investigations into preventable deaths in acute hospital and community settings”. The cases come from local, interstate, and international jurisdictions. You can subscribe to receive the quarterly Communiqués.
Journal of Patient Safety [NO F/T ACCESS]
Online: No full-text access
>> Request articles via ANZCA Library's Request an article service.
more...less...
BMJ Open Quality is dedicated to publishing high quality, peer reviewed healthcare improvement work. Articles covering original research, local, national and international QI projects, value-based healthcare improvement initiatives and educational improvement work are all considered.

BMJ Open Quality uses continuous publication online, to ensure timely, up-to-date knowledge is available worldwide. The journal adheres to a rigorous and transparent peer review process and papers are considered on the basis of methodological soundness rather than priority or novelty.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.