Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Research

Guide index

Research, including grant proposals and trials

Enhancement of research expertise by leading or contributing to research.

Participate as the lead/principal or associate investigator of a research grant application
Recruit patients to approved multicentre research
Participate in a multi-centre trial run by the ANZCA Clinical Trials Network (CTN)
Contribute to components of research including grant proposals and recruitment
Write up a submission or protocol for a study or investigation
Participate in the data collection for a trial or study
Participate in the ethics approval process
Undertake clinical supervisor duties for a research project

See also: Publications for time spent on the publication stage
See also: CPD for Clinical Support Roles Resource Guide for numerous CPD support resources for research

How ANZCA can help:

Check out the Research Support Toolkit (RSTK) for a comprehensive list of research support tools including help for emerging researchers Recommended
ANZCA Research Consultation Service: Consult with the ANZCA research librarian for help with your research
Follow other fellow research or set up a research profile on the ANZCA Institutional Research Repository (AIRR)

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills research activity.

External resources

Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare (ACSQH).The Australian Open Disclosure Framework [Internet].
The Australian Open Disclosure Framework provides a nationally consistent basis for open disclosure in Australian health care.
Australian Medical Association (AMA): Code of Ethics
The AMA Code of Ethics articulates and promotes a body of ethical principles to guide doctors' conduct in their relationships with patients, colleagues and society.
more...less...
Code of Ethics 2004. Editorially Revised 2006. Revised 2016
World Medical Association (WMA): WMA International Code of Medical Ethics [Internet].
The World Medical Association (WMA) has developed the International Code of Medical Ethics as a canon of ethical principles for the members of the medical profession worldwide.
more...less...
Adopted by the 3rd General Assembly of the World Medical Association, London, England, October 1949
Revised by the 22nd World Medical Assembly, Sydney, Australia, August 1968,
the 35th World Medical Assembly, Venice, Italy, October 1983,
the 57th WMA General Assembly, Pilanesberg, South Africa, October 2006
and by the 73rd WMA General Assembly, Berlin, Germany, October 2022

Ethics in the Boardroom: A Decision-making Guide for Directors by Australian Institute of Company Directors Ethics in the Boardroom: A Decision-Making Guide for Directors is designed to support directors in considering ethical issues as they discharge their duties.
Publication Date: October 2019
Good Medical Practice: A Code of Conduct for Doctors in Australia by Medical Board Ahpra Good medical practice (the code) describes what is expected of all doctors registered to practise medicine in Australia. It sets out the principles that characterise good medical practice and makes explicit the standards of ethical and professional conduct expected of doctors by their professional peers and the community.
Publication Date: October 2020
Good Medical Practice [New Zealand] by Medical Council of New Zealand (Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa) A doctor's first concern is to take care of their patient, and to do so with respect, honesty and professionalism. Our "Good Medical Practice" publication sets out the principles and values that define good medical practice, and provides guidance to doctors on the standards we expect of them in all aspects of their professional behaviour.
Publication Date: 1 November 2021
Mentoring Guide: A Resource for Mentors and Mentees by NSW Government Graduate Program
Publication Date: December 2020
This guide outlines critical information and processes to set up the mentoring relationship for success and sustain momentum.
Open Disclosure Handbook by Clinical Excellence Commission The Open Disclosure Handbook has been prepared by the Clinical Excellence Commission as a resource for clinicians and other health care staff working within a NSW Health facility or service. It outlines the steps and considerations involved in practising open disclosure according to the NSW Health Open Disclosure Policy.
ISBN: 9781741870787
Publication Date: 2014

ANZCA & FPM resources

CPD Activity Guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.
PS40(G) Position statement on the relationship between fellows, trainees and the healthcare industry 2012
This policy is intended to assist fellows and trainees of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (“the college”, which includes the Faculty of Pain Medicine), with professional and ethical matters that may arise from involvement with the healthcare industry.

ANZCA: Research Support Hub
This hub has been designed to bring together the various resources provided by the college and ANZCA library to support research-related activities.
ANZCA: Research Consultation Service
ANZCA Knowledge Resources has a dedicated Research Consultation Service, with aims to develop and deliver research services to fellows, trainees, college staff and other key college stakeholders.
ANZCA: Research Support Toolkit (RSTK)
This in-depth toolkit brings together information resources related to the area of professional research, the research life-cycle and the college resources available to support ANZCA researchers. It offers a primer for emerging investigators and research co-ordinators who would like to know more, and support materials for both new and established researchers.
ANZCA: Research Support Essentials Library Guide
Locate tools, services and resources that will increase their understanding of research fundamentals, as well as highlighting the latest research-related news.
ANZCA: CPD for Clinical Support Roles Library Guide
The purpose of this resources guide is to assist fellows to match CPD activities with the nature of the work roles that they undertake. The target audience is those with clinical support roles alongside their work with patients and those who practice without direct patient care.

AIRR | ANZCA Institutional Research Repository
The ANZCA Institutional Research Repository stores and facilitates discovery of the research and publication output of ANZCA, the Faculty of Pain Medicine and the wider ANZCA community.
ANZCA: Research
We support research in anaesthesia, pain medicine and perioperative medicine to improve patient outcomes through funding and resources, collaboration, and networks.
ANZCA Clinical Trials Network (CTN)
We are the leading clinical trials network in anaesthesia, pain and perioperative medicine. We have a clear focus to translate our research findings into practice to improve patient safety and care in our communities and globally.

Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by Robert B. Taylor This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors.
ISBN: 9783319701257
Publication Date: 2018-01-09
The Process of Research Writing by Steven D. Krause, Eastern Michigan University The title of this book is The Process of Research Writing, and in the nutshell, that is what the book is about.
Publication Date: 2007
Research and Writing Skills for Academic and Graduate Researchers by RMIT University Library These modules are for academic and higher degree researchers who want to develop and extend the skills required in the contemporary research environment. (This set of modules is under development - check back regularly to find additional content.)
Publication Date: November 2022

ANZCA CTN Educational Session: Showcasing your research

Title: ANZCA CTN Educational Session: Showcasing your research

A research profile is a critical tool for doctors involved in research. This educational session covered: Increasing your visibility, credibility and recognition; Research profiles; ORCID ID Networking and creating an online presence; Social media networks for researchers; Creating your own website; CTN networking opportunities; Repositories and databases to create a meaningful online profile of your work and its impact; Research databases; Read by QxMD; University repositories; ANZCA Institutional Research Repository (AIRR)

Presented by: Kathryn Rough, ANZCA Research Library and John Prentice, ANZCA Library Manager
Moderator: Paige Druce, ANZCA Senior Clinical Trials Network Coordinator
Presented: Tuesday 20 February 2024
Duration: 55 mins