Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Learning sessions

Guide index

Learning Sessions

Attendance at lectures, presentations or online learning

Participation in face-to-face or virtual learning sessions relevant to your scope of practice at scientific meetings, educational conferences or via online learning run by the college/faculty, a special interest group (SIG), another professional medical organisation, healthcare institution, or research/ educational body.

Attend a presentation at the annual ANZCA Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM)
Attend a presentation at the annual ASA National Scientific Congress (NSC)
Attend a presentation at the annual Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM
Attend a presentation at the annual FPM Symposium
Attend the annual FPM Spring Meeting
Attend a Special Interest Group (SIG) meeting
Attend a symposium related to your scope of practice
Attend a presentation at the AAGBI Annual Congress
Complete the Better Pain Management Learn@ANZCA modules
Watch an online webinar - such as a research-related webinar
Listen to a podcast - a variety of health/medical-related podcasts can be found on our dedicated podcast guide

Check out the Courses tab of Keeping Current library guide for additional short courses and learning sessions

See also: Formal courses for courses towards a formal qualification (higher education/tertiary)
See also: Short format learning for short course, workshops, problem-based learning discussions and small group discussions

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

External courses/resources

External resources links

All Pregnant People: Understanding Transgender Fertility, Pregnancy, and Birth
This online course prepares you to offer meaningful, effective support to your trans, non-binary, and gender nonconforming clients.

Anaesthesia Tutorial of the Week (ATOTW)
ATOTW is published on a bi-weekly basis and translated into five languages. All our tutorials are peer reviewed and based on most current literature. Readers can also test their knowledge through our online CME quizzes. Anyone is welcome to use our material and we hope you find ATOTW a useful resource in your clinical practice!

Clinical Human Factors Group (CHFG)
An online educational resource from the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA) which aims to support anaesthesia training throughout the world, particularly in areas where access to journals and learning materials is limited.

COVID19 Lung and Cardiac Ultrasound
Lung and basic cardiac ultrasound can be very useful tools in the assessment of patients with COVID-19 disease.>

This online module, developed by the University of Melbourne, is available as a paid course.

NEJM Learning/CME (Continuing Medical Education)
CME activities, cases, challenges, videos, and more teaching and learning tools from the New England Journal of Medicine.

Spinal Anaesthesia for Medical Practitioners – an eLearning course for anaesthesia providers
This eLearning teaching and training resource provides practical and theoretical information on performing and managing spinal anaesthesia for anaesthesia providers. It is intended to be a supplement to face to face teaching and must not be considered a substitute for high quality clinical instruction. The course is best viewed on a laptop or desktop computer rather than a phone and will take approximately 3-4 hours to complete.

Note: The cost of this course is AUD $100.

Transgender and Gender Nonconforming Essentials
The free TGNC Essentials online course provides medical professionals the opportunity to identify knowledge deficits and learn how to provide culturally appropriate care to their transgender and gender nonconforming (TGNC) patients in their practice.

This foundational module covers essential terminology, myths and misconceptions about TGNC people, gender neutral language, and best practices for medical sites to create an affirming environment of care for TGNC patients. In addition, it provides opportunities for practical skill development, including practicing using gender appropriate pronouns, reflecting on cultural assumptions, and planning strategies to incorporate into work processes and procedures.

Note: This online course covers USA-specific information.

RANZCOG Endometriosis eLearning Module
The RANZCOG Endometriosis eLearning Module provides comprehensive coverage of endometriosis symptoms, management, and the whole-person patient care pathway. With an estimated 700,000 or more Australians with endometriosis, and delay from onset to diagnosis of 7 to 12 years, this free resource aims to improve time to diagnosis and effective management for better patient outcomes for all Pain Specialists with an interest in women’s health.

The college welcomes suggestions on additional resources and topics for CPD on learning sessions.

Learn@ANZCA

Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system. The system contains numerous courses and resources which will be of interest to trainees and fellows.

Note: Some resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.

ANZCA: Setting up SSO and MFA Everything you need to know about single-sign on (SSO), multi-factor authentication (MFA), and how we're keeping your data safe.

Learn@ANZCA resources

Better Pain Management [Learn@ANZCA]
The Better Pain Management program has been designed for those engaged in the care of patients with persistent pain. It consists of twelve online education modules each designed to be completed in one hour.

CPD Note: CPD participants will automatically have this activity populated in the CPD portal.

ANZCA courses and workshops

ANZCA courses links

ANZCA Events and Courses
Our events, meetings, courses, seminars, workshops, and evening lectures are developed by experts and tailored to the training and continuing professional development needs of anaesthetists, specialist pain medicine physicians, and the wider medical community.
ANZCA: Better Pain Management Program
The FPM Better Pain Management program has been designed for specialist and general medical practitioners, medical students, nurses and allied health practitioners engaged in the care of patients with persistent pain. Note: ANZCA and FPM fellows, trainees and SIMGs have complimentary access to all BPM modules via Learn@ANZCA (see above).
ANZCA ASM Website
Each year, we explore innovative new ways to deliver continuing professional development (CPD) and networking opportunities through a program of plenary sessions, small group discussions, and interactive workshops.

CPD Note: CPD participants will automatically have the hours for this activity populated in the CPD portal.

Special interest groups
Anaesthesia Continuing Education (ACE) was established to promote and co-ordinate combined continuing medical education activities in anaesthesia and related disciplines. It manages 17 Special Interest Groups (SIGs) that allow anaesthetists and others to study, report and develop educational events in specific areas of anaesthesia in which they have an interest or skills.

CPD Note: CPD participants will automatically have the hours for this activity populated in the CPD portal.

ANZCA & FPM resources

ANZCA & FPM resources links

CPD Activity Guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.

ANZCA: Keeping Current Library Guide
This guide contains resources that medical professionals can use to keep up-to-date with current articles, research, trends and networking opportunities, including the setting up of personalised journal alerts.
ANZCA: Podcasts Library Guide
This guide displays podcasts related to anaesthesia, pain medicine and other areas that might be useful to medical professionals. UPD - Revised & expanded
ANZCA: SIG Resources Hub
Access information and resources related to the ACE Special Interest Groups (SIGs), including dedicated guides for each of the SIG areas.

AudioDigest (Audio lectures)

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

BJA Education

BJA Education: CME
Each issue of BJA Education includes tests designated for potential CPD recognition (the term CME may be used interchangeably), as well exam preparation. Each online exam is based on an article published in BJA Education and consists of a series of multiple-choice questions followed by a brief optional post-test evaluation on how the knowledge gained can be used.

Access BJA Education articles (via BrowZine)
Access associated CME/CPD/Online Exam Content*

*Please Note: The user must create a free local profile to access this feature.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

Webinar: COVID-19 and anaesthesia

The New Zealand National Committee hosted a webinar in May 2020 which comprised of a panel of experts talking about COVID-19 and anaesthesia. The panel was made up of a leading epidemiologist, a microbiologist an infectious diseases specialist, the chief medical officer of the New Zealand Ministry of Health and our own Dr Nigel Robertson who has been chairing the ANZCA Clinical Expert Advisory Committee set up for pandemic response.

Date: May 2020
Presenter: Dr Jennifer Woods
Duration: 68 mins.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.