Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Journal reading

Guide index

Journal reading

Keep up-to-date with your readings using the Read by QxMD app
Highly recommended!
- New article alerts on the basis of an easy to set up profile
- Direct access to ANZCA-subscribed journal articles
- Request articles not available online
- 2 minute summaries of key anaesthesia and pain-medicine related articles
- NEW Claim time spent with a downloadable certificate
Browse and read the entire library journal collection using the BrowZine app or the BrowZine web portal
- Bookmark your favourite journals
- Bookmark your favourite articles
- Request BJA articles not available online
- Save your authentication credentials (app only)
Use LibKey Nomad++ to access/request articles anywhere on the web Recommended!
- Use LibKey Nomad++ to access full-text in PubMed
Read specialist journals online
Search for articles in the library discovery service
- Use the Category: Peer-reviewed filter to refine results to peer-reviewed articles
Access ANZCA full-text using Google Scholar
Request an article not available online through the ANZCA Library
Participate in the journal club at your hospital (see below for further details on how to set-up a journal club)

Learn more about Keeping current

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

External resources

AccessMedicine: 2 Minute Medicine
Concise and authoritative medical reports of breaking medical literature as well as seminal studies in medicine. These two minute reports are available in text and audio format, with the option to set up alerts.

AMA Ed Hub: Anesthesiology
Explore the latest in anaesthesiology, including airway and pain management, intensive and palliative care, regional anesthesia, and more.

NEJM: Pain Management, Addiction, and End‑of‑Life Care
These articles may be of help in meeting specially designated CME requirements in the areas of pain management, addiction, and end-of-life care.

ClinicalKey (Australian Edition): CME
ClinicalKey (Australian Edition) is a medical search engine and database tool offering access to the Elsevier medical library. ClinicalKey supports Internet Point of Care learning (IPoC), which is a certified Continuing Medical Education (CME) activity that allows physicians the opportunity to identify and research a topic relevant to their clinical practice. CME credit/time is available for the following content types: books, Clinical Overviews, and published journal articles.

See our dedicated ClinicalKey guide for further information on using the web-based version, including full access details.

See our dedicated ClinicalKey app guide for further information including full access details.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

Note: One of the features of the ClinicalKey app is it allows users to earn and track CME credits/time (local profile required).

Creating a journal club

The BJA Education article below sets out the steps to creating a successful journal club. Also included are guides for 2 separate health services outlining the steps and resources often available at the local level.

See the Journal reading box above for the ANZCA-related tools and resources available for use in any anaesthesia-based journal club
Check with your hospital library for any information they may have about the running of journal clubs at your health service.

Eusuf D, Shelton C. Establishing and sustaining an effective journal club. BJA Educ. 2022 Feb;22(2):40-42.
Keywords: education; evidence-based medicine; internship and residency; medical.

Monash Health: Journal Clubs
Guide focussed on journal club creation.
NT Health: Starting a Journal Club
This guide has been developed to support NT Health staff who would like to start a Journal Club.

A Guide to Leading a Journal Club by Monash Health
Publication Date: 2010

ANZCA & FPM resources

CPD Activity Guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.

ANZCA: Library Journals
ANZCA Library subscribes to 1,100+ full-text journals, with access to an additional 10,100+ open-access and legacy e-journals.
ANZCA: Keeping Current Library Guide
This guide contains resources that medical professionals can use to keep up-to-date with current articles, research, trends and networking opportunities, including the setting up of personalised journal alerts.
ANZCA: LibKey Nomad++ Library Guide
LibKey Nomad++ allows web users to easily access and read journal articles found anywhere on the web. It also allows for easy requesting of articles where there is no full-text access, and provides on screen messaging where access is available through a different site.
ANZCA: Request an article
The article request service provides college fellows, trainees and staff with material that is not available full-text, free-of-charge. This includes copies of journal articles, chapters from books or conference papers required for your research, patient care and learning.

Library resources

Read by QxMD [App] This link opens in a new window
Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content, and the ability to request articles for non-subscribed content. For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly-published articles and claiming time spent for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated Read by QxMD guide for more information including full access details

Check out the 2 Minute Summaries Feed!
CPD Note: For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

BrowZine [App] This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated BrowZine guide for more information including full access details