Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Wellbeing education sessions

Guide index

Wellbeing education sessions

Participation in a face-to-face or virtual wellbeing-related educational conference, workshop, small group discussion, or online learning module organised or provided by ANZCA, FPM, a special interest group, professional medical organisation, or healthcare institution.

Attend a Wellbeing SIG session
Undertake a wellbeing activity/workshop at the ANZCA ASM
Complete the ANZCA Bullying, discrimination and sexual harassment module
Complete an ANZCA Critical Incident Debriefing
Listen to a wellbeing-related podcast
- Listen to the ABC Radio podcast: When anaesthetists can't sleep…
Watch a wellbeing-related webinar
Complete an online/course webinar on healthcare worker wellbeing
Complete a Beyond Blue Anxiety & Depression Test
Undertake a mindfulness and wellbeing course or retreat (with an educational component) - for example: Mindfulness in clinical practice
Undertake a Psychological First Aid session

See also: Critical reflection for time spent developing a personal wellbeing plan
See also: Health and wellbeing of the CPD for clinical support roles guide
See also: Planning and managing career transitions of the CPD for clinical support roles guide

How ANZCA can help:

The ANZCA Wellbeing Library Guide includes a collection of selected professional networks and support resources related to the wellbeing of doctors. These may be used by wellbeing education session providers, facilitators and participants.
The ANZCA Critical Incident Debriefing Toolkit includes a suite of a suite of informed, accessible and diverse training resources for fellows and trainees during and following critical incidents.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills wellbeing education sessions activity. See the linked activity guide for additional educational session developer and facilitator claim notes.

Hours for college-related events will be automatically uploaded to your CPD portfolio. You will need to confirm the activity for the hours to be added to your annual total.

External resources

AMA Ed Hub: Clinician Burnout Assessment Toolkit
Physician well-being is influenced by both organizational and individual factors. This collection of AMA's STEPS Forward® toolkits offer strategies on how to engage health system leadership, understanding physician burnout and how to address it, as well as developing a culture that supports physician well-being.
AMA Ed Hub: Physician Burnout Improve Physician Satisfaction and Patient Outcomes
more...less...
Learning Objectives:
At the end of this activity, you will be able to:
1. Describe why physician burnout is a pressing issue;
2. Identify key contributors to physician burnout;
3. Outline benefits of conducting an annual wellness survey to document intervention effectiveness;
4. Recognize different interventions available to address physician burnout.
Beyond Blue
Beyond Blue provides information and support to help everyone in Australia achieve their best possible mental health, whatever their age and wherever they live.
Black Dog Institute: Resources & support
Mental health resources and support tools resources to navigate burnout (Australia).
Blue Knot Professional Community
The Blue Knot Professional Community website endeavours to provide you with all the information you need to find the resources, training or service to deal with complex trauma.
DRS4DRS
Site for medical practitioners and students - find a GP or other health specialist (Australia) .
more...less...
Drs4Drs is dedicated to promoting the health and wellbeing of doctors and medical students throughout Australia.
Hand-n-Hand Peer Support
Free, confidential peer support for health professionals in Australia and New Zealand.
Psychwire
Signature online courses for health and mental health professionals by the leaders in evidence-based therapy.

Good Medical Practice: A Code of Conduct for Doctors in Australia by Medical Board Ahpra Good medical practice (the code) describes what is expected of all doctors registered to practise medicine in Australia. It sets out the principles that characterise good medical practice and makes explicit the standards of ethical and professional conduct expected of doctors by their professional peers and the community.
Publication Date: October 2020
Good Medical Practice [New Zealand] by Medical Council of New Zealand (Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa) A doctor's first concern is to take care of their patient, and to do so with respect, honesty and professionalism. Our "Good Medical Practice" publication sets out the principles and values that define good medical practice, and provides guidance to doctors on the standards we expect of them in all aspects of their professional behaviour.
Publication Date: 1 November 2021

Screening tools

TEN Digital Mental Health Check-up
Support for health professionals (depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress, burnout) .
Beyond Blue: Anxiety and Depression Test (K10)
You may wish to retain results for your personal records. Please do not upload results to the CPD portfolio.

Learn@ANZCA

Use the links below to access additional support resources contained on the Learn @ANZCA platform.

Note: Resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.

Bullying, discrimination and sexual harassment [Learn@ANZCA]
The module aims to help you improve your knowledge and understanding of unacceptable behaviours, enabling you to recognize when they occur and the adverse impact these have on individuals, team performance and patient safety.

CPD Note: CPD participants will automatically have this activity populated in the CPD portal.

Critical Incident Debriefing [Learn@ANZCA]
The module and podcasts have been developed for anaesthetists who are wanting to learn the what, why and how of running a debrief and for trainees who should know what to expect when being part of a debrief.

CPD Note: CPD participants will automatically have this activity populated in the CPD portal.

ANZCA & FPM courses

ANZCA Events and Courses
Our events, meetings, courses, seminars, workshops, and evening lectures are developed by experts and tailored to the training and continuing professional development needs of anaesthetists, specialist pain medicine physicians, and the wider medical community.

CPD Note: CPD participants will automatically have college-related events populated in the CPD portal. However, you will need to confirm the activity for the hours to be added to your annual total.

ANZCA & FPM resources

CPD activity guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.
CPD handbook: Wellbeing education sessions - guideline
This guideline informs CPD participants about completing the Wellbeing education sessions activity and assists session providers develop and conduct such sessions.
PG43(A) Guideline on fatigue risk management in anaesthesia practice 2020.
The purpose of this statement is to highlight the importance of fatigue risk management, serve as a resource for clinicians and to provide healthcare facilities with recommendations on how to prevent the onset and reduce the impact of fatigue on safe patient care and occupational health/safety.
PG49(G) Guideline on the health of specialists, specialist international medical graduates, and trainees.
To assist specialists, SIMGs, and trainees of the college and its faculties with issues related to their health and wellbeing. It is also intended to assist healthcare facilities to develop systems that provide the necessary support.

ANZCA: Wellbeing Library Guide
ANZCA Library has compiled a list of support resources relevant to the general wellbeing of medical practitioners.
ANZCA: Critical Incident Debriefing (CID) Toolkit
Our Critical Incident Debriefing Toolkit provides a comprehensive, evidence-based resource on what are critical incidents, how to provide support and a hot debrief following a critical incident. It can be read in sections or as a whole.

ANZCA: Doctors' Health and Wellbeing
ANZCA's dedicated Doctors' health and wellbeing page, which outlines the Doctors' Health and Wellbeing Framework, as well as other resources to support doctors and integrate supportive mechanisms within organisations.
ANZCA Doctors' Support Program - Converge
As part of our ongoing support of our fellows, trainees and specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs), ANZCA has engaged the professional services of Converge International, a specialist in psychology, mental health and wellbeing who will provide a confidential and independent counselling and coaching service.

Long Lives, Healthy Workplaces: A Toolkit for Anaesthetic Departments by Welfare of Anaesthetists SIG Long Lives, Healthy Workplaces is an initiative of the Wellbeing Special Interest Group and Everymind, with support from the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) and additional funding leveraged under The Prevention Hub. The purpose is to provide a toolkit to support better mental health and wellbeing for anaesthetists and anaesthetic trainees.
Publication Date: 2019