Library resource guides: ANZCA & FPM CPD Program resources: Multi-source feedback (MsF)

Guide index

Multi-source feedback (MsF)

Obtain feedback on your performance from a minimum of six colleagues/co-workers with whom you regularly work.
A trusted colleague collates the feedback and discusses it with you to identify your strengths and areas to work on.

***

You can use a specialty-specific college guideline (linked in the ANZCA & FPM resources section) to complete this activity.
If you use a different tool, it must be relevant to the ANZCA and FPM roles in practice.

Participate in a MsF collected from immediate colleagues including surgeons, anaesthetic nurses, recovery nurses and fellow anaesthetists
Request a MsF related to a specific scope of specialty - for example: Pain Medicine attachment
Participate in a series of MsFs as part of a "round robin" training exercise
Undertake a MsF as part of a simulation exercise

You may choose to undertake a critical reflection activity on this MsF and develop a plan for practice change.
This facilitates the participant ‘closing the loop’ by reflecting on specific actions they can undertake to improve their practice.

Note: Facilitators who are also CPD participants should record this activity under review of ANZCA/FPM Fellows

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Practice evaluation - reviewing performance Multi-source feedback (MsF) activity.

External resources

AMC: Resource – Multisource Feedback
Welcome to the AMC e-learning resource on multisource feedback (MSF) for WBA.

Multisource Feedback (MSF): Intern Guide by Medical Council of New Zealand (Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa)
Publication Date: February 2022

Lockyer J, Sargeant J. Multisource feedback: an overview of its use and application as a formative assessment. Can Med Educ J. 2022 Aug 26;13(4):30-35.
more...less...
Abstract
Multisource feedback (MSF), often termed 360-degree feedback, is a formative performance assessment in which data about an individual's observable workplace behaviors are collected through questionnaires from those interacting with the individual; data are aggregated for anonymity and confidentiality; the aggregated data, along with self-assessment if available, are provided to the individual; and the recipient meets with a trusted individual to review the data and develop an action plan. It is used along the continuum of medical education. This article provides an overview of MSF's utility, its evidence base and cautions.

ANZCA & FPM resources

CPD Activity Guide
This guide contains a list of all the activities associated with the ANZCA and FPM CPD Program, as well as links to associated individual activity guides and forms.
Practical guidance for CPD feedback conversations
This guideline provides practical tips for those providing feedback to a colleague as part of the CPD program (for example peer review, multi-source feedback, patient experience surveys). Engaging in a feedback conversation is a skill and as with all skills it can be learnt and improved. The feedback conversation is an important tool for enhancing learning for both specialists.
Mapping the CPD program to ANZCA & FPM roles in practice
This table maps the activities in the ANZCA and FPM Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program to the main Roles in Practice that, in general, each activity maintains and further develops.
PS11(PM) Procedures in pain medicine clinical care standard
The goal of the Procedures in Pain Medicine Clinical Care Standard is to articulate what is considered to be the appropriate and safe use of procedures in the practice of pain medicine.

ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (anaesthesia) - guideline
This guideline assists anaesthetists, facilitators and feedback responders to complete the multi-source feedback (anaesthesia) activity.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (clinical support) - guideline
This guideline assists CPD participants, facilitators and feedback responders to complete the multisource feedback (clinical support) activity.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (diving and hyperbaric medicine) - guideline
This guideline assists CPD participants, facilitators and feedback responders to complete the multisource feedback MsF (DHM) activity.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (pain medicine) - guideline
This guideline assists pain medicine specialists, administrators and feedback responders to complete the multi-source feedback MsF (pain medicine) activity.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (procedures in pain medicine) - guideline
This guideline assists pain medicine proceduralists, facilitators and feedback responders to complete the multi-source feedback MsF (procedures in pain medicine) activity.

ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback – confidentiality and CPD verification form

ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (anaesthesia) – summary form
The facilitator uses this form to summarise and de-identify the feedback from individual MsF responders.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (clinical support) – summary form
The facilitator uses this form to summarise and de-identify the feedback from individual MsF responders.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (diving and hyperbaric medicine) – summary form
The facilitator uses this form to summarise and de-identify the feedback from individual MsF responders.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (pain medicine) – summary form
The facilitator uses this form to summarise and de-identify the feedback from individual MsF responders.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (procedures in pain medicine) – summary form
The facilitator uses this form to summarise and de-identify the feedback from individual MsF responders.

ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (anaesthesia) – self-assessment form
This self-assessment process provides you with the opportunity to think about your performance in each of the following specialist roles, identifying areas of strength and those for improvement.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (clinical support) – self-assessment form
This self-assessment process provides you with the opportunity to think about your performance in each of the following specialist roles, identifying areas of strength and those for improvement.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (diving and hyperbaric medicine) – self-assessment form
This self-assessment process provides you with the opportunity to think about your performance in each of the following specialist roles, identifying areas of strength and those for improvement.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program:Multi-source feedback (pain medicine) – self-assessment form
This self-assessment process provides you with the opportunity to think about your performance in each of the following specialist roles, identifying areas of strength and those for improvement.
ANZCA and FPM CPD Program: Multi-source feedback (procedures in pain medicine) – self-assessment form
This self-assessment process provides you with the opportunity to think about your performance in each of the following specialist roles, identifying areas of strength and those for improvement.

Supporting Professionalism and Performance: A Guide for Anaesthetists and Pain Medicine Physicians 2024 by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) The guide aims to assist fellows and trainees by providing a framework for understanding professionalism and performance as it applies to the practice of anaesthesia and pain medicine. The structure mirrors the ANZCA and FPM roles in practice and builds from the curriculum frameworks of the anaesthesia and pain medicine training programs under each of these roles.
Publication Date: Version 2.0, published in 2024
PS11(PM): Procedures in Pain Medicine Clinical Care Standard by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists The goal of the Procedures in Pain Medicine Clinical Care Standard is to articulate what is considered to be the appropriate and safe use of procedures in the practice of pain medicine.
Publication Date: 2020

ANZCA: Roles in Practice - Communicator Library Guide
This guide contains informative, accessible and diverse training resources, including those available through the ANZCA library, to support communication activities that help establish rapport, trust, and ethical therapeutic relationships with patients and their families.
ANZCA: Communication in Anaesthesia Library Guide
This guide has been designed for anaesthetists interested in Communication in Anaesthesia to locate relevant resources on this topic, including those available through the ANZCA library.

ANZCA: Doctors' Health and Wellbeing
ANZCA's dedicated Doctors' health and wellbeing page, which outlines the Doctors' Health and Wellbeing Framework, as well as other resources to support doctors and integrate supportive mechanisms within organisations.